/ Forums
New To The Forum? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. -- Developers Click Here.

Having Problems w/ DK2? [OLD - For Runtime 0.6.0.1]

cyberealitycybereality Posts: 20,158 Oculus Staff
edited February 2016 in Showcase
THIS INFORMATION IS OLD!!! FOR RUNTIME 0.6.0.1

If you recently received your DK2 and are having problems, please read below.

Before playing any DK2 games, you will need to install the Oculus Run-Time. It is available on the download page:

https://developer.oculus.com/downloads/

After installing the Run-Time, please use the Config Util to setup a profile for your DK2. This will let you set your IPD, height, and other options. You can also try the demo scene (inside the Config Util) to make sure the device is working.

In most cases, choosing "Direct Mode" for the "Oculus Display Mode" will be the easiest setting. I believe it selects this by default, but you can always change this from the Oculus icon in task manager (in the lower-right corner on Windows, right-click and choose "Oculus Display Mode"). In "Direct Mode" Windows will not detect the DK2 as a monitor, but games will still be able to work. The light on the headset will stay solid orange, and the screen black, until you play a DK2 compatible game. Once the game loads the light on the DK2 will become solid blue.

If, for whatever reason, "Direct Mode" is not working for the game you are playing, then you can try "Extended Mode". In "Extended Mode" you will need to set the Windows display to extended desktop (and NOT mirror/clone/duplicate).

You also *MUST* rotate the screen orientation for the DK2 screen. Otherwise your screen will be flipped on it's side. You can change this in the Windows display settings, or in the Nvidia/AMD control panel. In Windows you can right-click the desktop, choose "Screen resolution" and then change the "orientation" options from "landscape" to "portrait". With Nvidia, it's under "Display" -> "Rotate Display".

This may also be a good chance to make sure the DK2 is set to 1920x1080 resolution at 75Hz refresh rate.

Keep in mind that the DK2 will *ONLY* work with games and apps that are specifically coded to support the Rift. Just trying to play any old game with the Rift WILL NOT work. You can find a list of DK2 compatible demos on Oculus Share:

https://share.oculus.com/category/dk2

If you run a non-Rift game, or regular 2D application (including the Windows desktop, web browsers, etc.) then the image will look oddly overlapping or cross-eyed. This is because the Rift uses a single display panel shared between both eyes. So each eye is only seeing one side of the same panel. So if you look at normal 2D content, you will only see half in each eye, which is obviously not comfortable.

If you are experiencing choppy motion in games, also called judder, there may be different solution. The first thing to check is that your computer is fast enough to maintain at least 75fps while playing the game. If you have an older computer, the performance can be an issue. Having Aero (desktop composition) "off" can cause slow fps. Make sure Aero is "on". If you are running multiple monitors, this can also be a source of issues. Making the DK2 the primary display can help. Or you can try setting your monitor to 75Hz refresh (usually this will need to be at a lower resolution like 1280x1024). If you are playing Unity content, make sure it's running in DirectX 11 mode. You can do this by creating a shortcut and adding this to the end of the target command (after a space):
-force-d3d11

If your Rift is not being detected at all by the Config Util, then games will not work. In this case, you may want to double-check all the cables and ports. For example, switch the USB port for the Rift and camera, and also the video port on the GPU. Plugging into a powered USB hub can also help. USB 2.0 may have better support. You can also use new (3rd party) HDMI and USB cables. This cable may work as a replacement for the sync cable:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=1 ... 1&format=2

If you are having camera detection or positional tracking issues, then try plugging the sync cable directly from the camera to the headset. You can find the port on the top of the DK2 under the rubber cover. You can also try purchasing the replacement cable above.

In the event you're experiencing crashing in games, or they fail to open, it could be a few things. First, make sure your GPU (graphics card) can support DirectX 11. While older cards may work with some games, it can be a source of issues. Make sure you have the Visual C++ Redistributables installed. You will want both 2010 and 2012 versions in both x86 and x64 flavors.

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... px?id=5555
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=14632
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=30679
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... x?id=40784

As of the 0.7 Runtime, you should also install the 2015 files (x86 and x64):

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... x?id=48145

If you are on Windows 7, and receive exception reports when opening the Oculus Config Util, try installing this patch.

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=36805

If you have a laptop, please understand that switchable graphics (i.e. Nvidia Optimus) are not well supported. In this case you will have an integrated Intel GPU working along side a more powerful Nvidia or AMD card. Unfortunately, this can be problematic and not recommended. In fact, laptop computers are not recommended at all due to lack of power and various compatibility issues. For the best experience, please use a desktop machine with a dedicated Nvidia or AMD GPU. It's hard to give an exact minimum supported spec, but please try to get a powerful, modern graphics card.

If you are using an AMD GPU, there are currently some compatibility issues with newer drivers. This may manifest has the desktop becoming a black screen, games crashing, etc. It is recommend you revert to Catalyst driver 14.4 until the problems are solved.

If you are on an Nvidia GPU and are getting a strange double-image in each eye, it is a bug with the 347.09 driver. Please update to driver 347.25 (or newer) for better compatibility (make sure to do a clean install and un-check any Nvidia 3D Vision options). Also, if you are using a G-Sync monitor, you may get strange artifacts on the left side of the screen (shifting the Rift image to the right). To work around the problem, please use Direct Mode.

Currently there are conflicts with certain anti-virus and security programs (like ZoneAlarm or Comodo) that may cause the installation of the run-time and drivers to fail. They can also affect running of the service. Unfortunately they may have to be uninstalled, just disabling may not always work.

In addition, USB display hardware or some virtual display/overlay software may cause issues. Known problematic hardware includes DisplayLink, Dell SuperSpeed, and Asus USB displays. Software such as TeamViewer or Origin in-game-overlay may also cause issues.

Finally, if you receive and error that looks something like this "57493-Public TCID:158609 is not responding" it probably means you have the Rift plugged into the wrong video port. This can typically happen when you have multiple GPUs (for example SLI/Crossfire or integrated) and plug the Rift into the wrong video card. Ideally, the Rift should be plugged into the primary video card via HDMI.

For 0.7 specific issues, including supported GPUs and Windows 10 instructions, see here: viewtopic.php?f=34&t=26029

Hopefully this covers the main issues. If you have any common questions, please feel free to reply here. If you have a really strange or unique issue, then creating a new thread in the "Reporting Issues" section may be the better option. Thanks.

// cybereality
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
«13456716

Comments

  • Thank you for this post, CyberReality. This helps a lot.

    What isn't covered, however, is OpenGL and "Direct" mode.

    Are we to take it that OpenGL and "Direct" mode is still not supported 100% by the SDK at this time?

    And if not, what is the official timeframe from the engineers on this?
  • Awesome Cyber! Thanks for putting a troubleshooting sticky up.
    This space available for advertising.
  • saviorntsaviornt Posts: 1,951
    1) There is a difference between resolution and pixel density. The reason for the SDE is the due to how dense the pixels are.
    2) If you have to ask if you should buy it (the dev kit), then the answer is probably no.
    3) If your having issues with the Camera not powering on, try using a powered USB hub (worked for me)
    4) Make sure the sync cable to the camera is installed completely. It was a tight fit for me... :lol:
    Current WIPs using Unreal Engine 4:
    Agrona - Tales of an Era: Medieval Fantasy MORPG
  • LuciferousLuciferous Posts: 1,091
    Neo
    Great I think we need more Official posts like this. There are so many myths flying about.

    I would include some notes about the latest SDK as well. Looking at the number of issues people are experiencing who have had the Rift for a while, new DK2 owners will not stand a chance.
  • I seriously hope that no-clone is a temporary setback and not a permanent change, extend mode is a lot more trouble and makes spectating a lot more difficult. The mouse pointer moves way into the "extended desktop" introduced by extended mode, I liked the good old days when you simply Alt-Tabbed to desktop to do things out of game and then Alt-Tabbed right back, easy. Developers aren't even supporting both Direct and Extended mode, just seems like everything is getting more confusing and problematic...

    I hope Direct mode means games will be offering a normal camera spectator view for the computer screen to be used alongside the rift, but at least cloning meant you could easily spectate in rift-view on the screen...

    A simple spectate-with-another-rift setup would also be great, don't know if it works out of the box at the moment because I only have one DK2 and can't use the DK1 because of the orientation...

    If I was responsible for advancing the DK2, I would put all my efforts into Clone Mode and Spectate, everything else can wait, except maybe backwards compatibility with DK1 games
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 20,158 Oculus Staff
    Direct mode has the ability to mirror to a window on the monitor.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • WirelineWireline Posts: 1,203
    Thanks for the sticky Cyber :)
  • I have the oculus in extended mode but my windows won't detect it at the 75hz refresh rate, it maxes out at 60. I tried using CRU to force the resolution/refresh rate combination but it still won't show up. I've been able to force my monitor to 1920x1080@75hz but still the oculus doesn't even give me the option in extended mode to run 75hz. Any idea what I'm doing wrong or what I need to do to fix this?
  • Hi cybereality, i have that problem you are talking aboute, and i have been trying and trying to get it to work but every time i switch the screen to be standing, and when i go in a demo world or a game of mine, the oculus rift screen is sideways
    And all the time all i can see is my wallpaper standing sideways.

    The light is blue on the rift and the motion tracker, i enter a game called Left4Dead 2 and all i can see is my desktop wallpaper, not the game. what is going on? i have been trying for hours now, how no ide what to do now :S
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 20,158 Oculus Staff
    @Adarma25: Did you read the guide in the first post? I believe it should answer your questions.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • RuudscornerRuudscorner Posts: 436
    Art3mis
    If you have a laptop, please understand that switchable graphics (i.e. Nvidia Optimus) are not well supported. In this case you will have an integrated Intel GPU working along side a more powerful Nvidia or AMD card. Unfortunately, this can be problematic and not recommended. In fact, laptop computers are not recommended at all due to lack of power and various compatibility issues. For the best experience, please use a desktop machine with a dedicated Nvidia or AMD GPU. It's hard to give an exact minimum supported spec, but please try to get a powerful, modern graphics card.
    I wonder how much this is going to kill the Oculus Rift for common gamers?
  • Well damn that just means i have to buy a desktop....


    Ughh oh the irony in this is crucial :oops: http://youtu.be/geEckxkYeCs?list=UUxsXP-L_B9mCTMYh2TvNYtA
  • Well my Oculus rift Dk2 works slightly better now, i can play the demo worlds 100% perfect with no trubble at all, but i dont see the desktop as good, when i try to play games on steam like The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim, doesnt work at all, even tried to make a batch file didnt work, but Killingfloor worked somewhat getter but there was something wrong with the vision or the way is in the oculus rift i cant have both eyes open if i do i would get a killer headacke, it doesnt matter wich ressolution i put on, i cant see as good when i play the demo world, something with the way its splitted
  • RazTOORazTOO Posts: 128
    Direct mode has the ability to mirror to a window on the monitor.

    Thanks A LOT CYBER - you're the KING!!! :) Didn't know that !

    I am planing to make a DK2 HOW TO SOLVE PROBLEMS PLAYLIST on my YT channel very soon - just to help more people out, and for people being stuck at a dead end with thier RIFT configs !
    My YouTube Channel:
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiusRc ... uNEoUS9g4A

    DracoDux - VRInput (under Development)
    https://youtu.be/GRRADXH5yzQ

    Dungeon Escape
    https://youtu.be/-AvUolM8Uxc
  • ccp001ccp001 Posts: 232
    since my thread has been ignored ill have to post this here.

    when I originally downloaded 0.4.3 runtime all direct mode games/demos ran at about 5-10 fps. cyber reality suggested that I turn aero on and that solved the issue but now the issue has come back. It doesn't matter if I have aero on anymore it still plays at 5-10fps. I don't understand why this would randomly happen today and am curious if there is a fix.
    this issue only occurs on demos lower than 4.3 but the other day I was able to play every demo and this issue didn't happen
  • ccp001ccp001 Posts: 232
    No idea cyber?
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 20,158 Oculus Staff
    There are two things that I know of. One, Aero needs to be on (which it seems you've done). And the games need to be compiled with the 0.4.3 SDK to run on the 0.4.3 runtime. Try the latest Tuscany demo or Config Util demo scene and see if it's still choppy.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • vanfanelvanfanel Posts: 102
    Hiro Protagonist
    Some other tips that got various demos/games working:

    Try checking the following options: (right click app->choose properties)
      1. Select the Compatibility tab
      a. Check "Run this program as Administrator"
      b. Disable display scaling on high DPI settings
      c. Run this program in compatibility mode (this i didn't need but could help)


    For laptops with optimus that can't be disabled here is what I've discovered through testing:
      1. Extended mode with rift as primary monitor will give you the best results
      2. UE4 demos work better than older Unity demos (compiled under 0.4.2 or earlier)
      3. Set the global setting for preferred graphics processor to <your NVidia card>
      You can set this on a per app basis but global is much simpler.
      4. So far I've been locked at 37.5fps in direct mode (could be a limitation on my laptop but
      I haven't seen anyone else get this working on any optimus laptop)
      5. Get the highest gpu you can afford especially if you're going the mobile route
  • MymaMyma Posts: 3
    How to fix 37,5 FPS limitation?
  • MymaMyma Posts: 3
    DK2 on/off
    9Ua5V9RioOM.jpg totaly Ignore vsync off (37,5 FPS)
    qSx8KuzT4BQ.jpg Ignore vsync off (60FPS)

    WTF?!
  • Hello,
    I just received my rift and followed attached paper instruction, and I didn't know that I should first run oculus runtime. So I run it later and it didn't run. What can be done? Please help me!
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 20,158 Oculus Staff
    If you download with IE its possible the extension name was missing (.exe).

    Try downloading with Chrome or Firefox.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • RazTOORazTOO Posts: 128
    I've made my first tutorial on setting up your RIFT DK2, called it RIFT DOCTOR lol :]

    You can find it here : http://youtu.be/5u6KqfCgOzM

    I'm open to any criticism and hope, that this video actually helps someone out at -
    at least for a start :D So tell me what you think :P

    Feedback is VERY WELCOME!!!!
    My YouTube Channel:
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiusRc ... uNEoUS9g4A

    DracoDux - VRInput (under Development)
    https://youtu.be/GRRADXH5yzQ

    Dungeon Escape
    https://youtu.be/-AvUolM8Uxc
  • Hi i figured it out why those games did work with the oculus rift, they werent virtual reality compatible, i can only get those beta games from "Share" to work perfectly tho. I noticed that if i want to play a game on steam i need the game to be called something like this? : MineCoasterVR_DirectToRift.exe that converts the games main launch exe into this:
    Skyrim_DirectToRift with the oculus rift icon on the launch exe for it to work propperly? looked though steam and found out only a few works, Half Life 2 and Teamfortress 2, then again i've seen on youtube some1 played Skyrim with the Oculus Dk2 without any problems, it turns out the awnsers i looked for only led me to more questions x3.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 20,158 Oculus Staff
    Most normal commercial games will not just automatically work with the Rift. With a few games, the developers added a VR patch (for example, with HL2). For other games, there are hacks or mods that may make the game work on the Rift. However, this is not recommended as there may be strange compatibility issues.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • hi i recently buy a oculus rift DK2 i no an expert in pc the only thinks i can see is the zero point move but no game or demo some one can help my graphic card is AMD R9 295x2
  • I just got my Oculus Rift the other day, and I can't get it to seem to work. I have a 2 monitor system running Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.140303-2144), on a Intel Core i7 CPU 870 @ 2.93GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.9GHz, with 8192MB RAM. Have two 23 inch HP displays running 1920x1080. AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series using DVI output.

    Now I hook up the rift and it registers says everything is connected. The blue light on the camera comes on. The headset light stays orange. I hit the demo button new window opens on my main screen, with very delayed head tracking. Which I am assume is the video that should be going to the Oculus. I try different games, they say they detect the Oculus, do I want to use it. I say yes. Then same thing opens it will display on my main screen but not in the head set. In windows display control panel it does not display the rift as a monitor, just my two 23" ones. But the config program for the Oculus says it is reading all connections good.

    The Oculus is hooked with HDMI off my video card. Now if I go to extend mode for Oculus in the config app. The computer will beep, then on the Config App it shows I have no Oculus connected, if I go to the windows Display control panel now it shows Rift DK2 as a option and is listed in the line of monitors. But it's greyed out and, I set that monitor to expanded. Tells me that it needs to be apply for it to take a effect. When I hit apply a warning window pops up telling me this setting cannot be saved.

    I've read all the forums and nothing for me seemed to help. It's really frustrating.
  • RahulRahul Posts: 4
    I got some serious issue.
    My Rift DK2 works without installation. After installation it fails. It does not allow me seting multiple display.

    I have a PC with Quadro 2000 and nvidia driver version 327.XX. It is not possible to upgrade drivers because I have monitor issue with higher version of driver.

    Any suggestion?
    techdm81
  • So, I've got my rift plugged in to a Raspberry Pi B+ and the status light is staying a steady orange. The goggles work fine on my PC, and flash orange and blue when I switch the hdmi cable to the Pi.

    If I remote in and force the Pi to send 1920x1080x75hz as the output the Rift's light changes from flashing the 2 colours to remaining on one solidly.

    Any idea what might be my problem?
  • GATMontanaGATMontana Posts: 4
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)
    Klax75 wrote:
    I just got my Oculus Rift the other day, and I can't get it to seem to work. I have a 2 monitor system running Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.140303-2144), on a Intel Core i7 CPU 870 @ 2.93GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.9GHz, with 8192MB RAM. Have two 23 inch HP displays running 1920x1080. AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series using DVI output.

    Now I hook up the rift and it registers says everything is connected. The blue light on the camera comes on. The headset light stays orange. I hit the demo button new window opens on my main screen, with very delayed head tracking. Which I am assume is the video that should be going to the Oculus. I try different games, they say they detect the Oculus, do I want to use it. I say yes. Then same thing opens it will display on my main screen but not in the head set. In windows display control panel it does not display the rift as a monitor, just my two 23" ones. But the config program for the Oculus says it is reading all connections good.

    The Oculus is hooked with HDMI off my video card. Now if I go to extend mode for Oculus in the config app. The computer will beep, then on the Config App it shows I have no Oculus connected, if I go to the windows Display control panel now it shows Rift DK2 as a option and is listed in the line of monitors. But it's greyed out and, I set that monitor to expanded. Tells me that it needs to be apply for it to take a effect. When I hit apply a warning window pops up telling me this setting cannot be saved.

    I've read all the forums and nothing for me seemed to help. It's really frustrating.

    1:1 same Problem here, just with one normal Sasmung TV as screen...meanwhile I tried everything...also exchanged the cables. Absolutly no idea...tested it on two different PC's, no success. Not in direct nor the other mode.
«13456716
Sign In or Register to comment.