/ Forums
New To The Forum? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. -- Developers Click Here.

0.7/0.8 GPU Setup [LAPTOPS ARE NOT SUPPORTED!]

cyberealitycybereality Posts: 21,389 Oculus Staff
edited March 2016 in Support
Reminder: GPUs below Nvidia GTX 600 series or AMD Radeon HD 7000 series are not supported. In addition, laptops typically are not supported well or at all (especially if they include Nvidia Optimus or AMD Switchable Graphics).

See this post for some details as to why laptops aren't supported.
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=28836&start=20#p328120

- Multi-GPU (like SLI) is not compatible and may result in artifacts on the screen. It can be disabled.
- Nvidia Surround is also not compatible and may result in slow performance and issues. It can be disabled.
- G-Sync monitors may result in issue. You may have to disable or unplug the monitor.


If you do have a supported GPU and are still having problems, read on:

If you are getting the “HMD Powered Off, Check HDMI Connection” error, please make sure you:

1. Have the correct GPU driver installed. Be sure to use the ones linked below.
---> Nvidia: https://developer.nvidia.com/oculus-07- ... er-support
---> AMD: http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-article ... river.aspx
2. Have your HMD plugged in.
3. Reboot while the HMD is plugged in.
4. If you still have the same error, please send Server & Diagnostic Logs.
Instructions for obtaining the logs are here: viewtopic.php?f=34&t=23521

If you’re on Windows 7 or 8, and thinking of upgrading to Windows 10:

1. Uninstall Oculus runtime software
2. Upgrade to Windows 10
3. Install the correct GPU driver from below:
---> Nvidia: https://developer.nvidia.com/oculus-07- ... er-support
---> AMD: http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-article ... river.aspx
4. Install the 0.7 Oculus runtime
5. Reboot with the HMD plugged in

NOTE: Please do NOT set a Debug HMD Type in the Config Util. This disables your actual hardware and uses an emulated setup designed for development testing. Your headset will not function in this configuration.

NOTE: If you upgraded to Windows 10 with the Oculus runtime previously installed in Windows 7/8, you may need to manually go and uninstall the “Oculus Display Driver”, which is not compatible with Windows 10. Go to Start -> Search for Add/Remove Programs -> Select “Oculus Display Driver” from the list -> Select Uninstall. When this uninstall has completed, please make sure your HMD is plugged in (both USB and HDMI cables) and then reboot.

If you have any questions or comments, feel free to post. Thanks.
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
«13456713

Comments

  • Hi! What about R9 280x (same chip 7970)? It supports 0.7 and LiquidVR? GCN v1.0 here
  • Anton2184 wrote:
    Hi! What about R9 280x (same chip 7970)? It supports 0.7 and LiquidVR? GCN v1.0 here

    the 280x is not below the 7xxx series. So yeah it will work.
    Gigabyte Z97-i5 4670, 8gb 1600mhz G.Skill, crossfired 7970 3gb, EVGA g2 1300 PSU
    WHERE IS THE VR BASS FISHING???
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 21,389 Oculus Staff
    Yes, more specifically you'll need the AMD GCN or Nvidia Kepler architectures (or newer). So you are fine.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • Hi - Im not sure wether the Quadro 4000 works with DK2 and 0.7 can someone give me a definitive answer?!

    thank you
  • zoostzoost Posts: 13
    will these compatibility restrictions (no/limited laptop support, mentioned GPU restrictions) also be applicable to the CV1?
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 21,389 Oculus Staff
    See the recommended specs for the consumer Rift here:

    https://www.oculus.com/en-us/blog/powering-the-rift/
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • MikeChurchMikeChurch Posts: 2
    edited September 2015
    I have an ATI Radeon 7800HD, and DK2 with Windows 8 64bit and Oculus 0.7 installed. I installed Windows 8 fresh just to get this working, and when I go to configure, then the Demo Scene, it shows on the monitor (mirroring) but not the headset. The mirroring screen says "Please put on the headset". The motion tracking, etc is working.

    I have tried the latest drivers for ATI (now using 15.8 beta as recommended somewhere else here) and no luck. I have tried direct to the HDMI port and through a Thunderbolt dongle->HDMI but same thing, nothing on the DK2 display.

    Any ideas?

    Anyone? Please... I have wasted 6 hours on this since the .7 upgrade. I have changed hardware to drive it, switched to Unity on PC from Mac, and am quite frustrated. I have seen other posts like mine with the exact same complaint. Help, anyone?
  • ModernVisionModernVision Posts: 2
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)
    I have a 560 GPU. An game i went to use said i had to update to continue using the game. So i updated, and now i cant use the rift at all. Is there a way to revert back to a later version?
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 21,389 Oculus Staff
    Yes, just uninstall the runtime and install a different version if you like.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • KevinLongtimeKevinLongtime Posts: 282
    Nexus 6
    I've updated to the new runtime and nvidia driver (uninstalled the oculus driver), however my oculus config utility insists on saying my DK1 as "HMD powered off, check HDMI connection". HDMI connection and power is fine..im still able to use the duplicate screens trick on my DK1 to play older demos as we speak..but the config utility will not recognize my DK1.

    Any help? I've reinstalled the runtime, same with the nvidia driver (both times HMD connected and powered on)..no luck.
    Windows 10 here.
    Display Driver Version: C:\WINDOWS\system32\OVRDisplay64.dll not found
    Positional Tracker Driver Version: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\OCUSBVID.sys not found

    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz

    Connected to OVRService server.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 21,389 Oculus Staff
    I believe there is a bug that causes DK1 to not work. Very sorry about that.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • KevinLongtimeKevinLongtime Posts: 282
    Nexus 6
    I believe there is a bug that causes DK1 to not work. Very sorry about that.

    Are there any plans for a patch anytime soon? A lot of people still only have DK1
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 21,389 Oculus Staff
    I will speak with the team this week to see what the plans are. Hopefully it's something that's easy to fix.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • KevinLongtimeKevinLongtime Posts: 282
    Nexus 6
    Appreciate it! Thank you.

    Hope to try out and make 0.7 demos soon! The direct driver mode sounds extremely promising.
  • {
    	"Time":	"2015-09-09_14:34:39",
    	"SDK Version":	"0.7.0.0",
    	"Service Protocol":	{
    		"Major":	1,
    		"Minor":	7,
    		"Patch":	0
    	},
    	"RemoteProtocolVersion":	{
    		"Major":	1,
    		"Minor":	7,
    		"Patch":	0
    	},
    	"Service Running Time":	{
    		"Hours":	0,
    		"Minutes":	18,
    		"Seconds":	36
    	},
    	"System Specifications":	{
    		"Operating System":	"Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro",
    		"Processor":	"Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz",
    		"Graphics Adapters":	[{
    				"Name":	"NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960",
    				"Video Controller RAM (MB)":	2048,
    				"Driver Version":	"10.18.13.5584",
    				"Video Mode":	"1920 x 1080 x 4294967296 colors"
    			}, {
    				"Name":	"Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600",
    				"Video Controller RAM (MB)":	1024,
    				"Driver Version":	"10.18.14.4170",
    				"Video Mode":	""
    			}],
    		"Total RAM (GB)":	16,
    		"USB Tree":	[{
    				"name":	"Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller",
    				"deviceid":	"PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_8CA6&SUBSYS_50061458&REV_00\\3&11583659&0&E8",
    				"caption":	"Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller",
    				"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB Host Controller)",
    				"Devices":	[{
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB Host Controller)",
    						"name":	"USB Root Hub"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Generic USB Hub)",
    						"name":	"Generic USB Hub"
    					}]
    			}, {
    				"name":	"Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller",
    				"deviceid":	"PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_8CAD&SUBSYS_50061458&REV_00\\3&11583659&0&D0",
    				"caption":	"Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller",
    				"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB Host Controller)",
    				"Devices":	[{
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB Host Controller)",
    						"name":	"USB Root Hub"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Generic USB Hub)",
    						"name":	"Generic USB Hub"
    					}]
    			}, {
    				"name":	"Intel(R) USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller - 0100 (Microsoft)",
    				"deviceid":	"PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_8CB1&SUBSYS_50071458&REV_00\\3&11583659&0&A0",
    				"caption":	"Intel(R) USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller - 0100 (Microsoft)",
    				"manufacturer":	"Generic USB xHCI Host Controller",
    				"Devices":	[{
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB HUBs)",
    						"name":	"USB Root Hub (xHCI)"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB Host Controller)",
    						"name":	"USB Composite Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"Oculus VR",
    						"name":	"Oculus DK2 Tracker"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"Compatible USB storage device",
    						"name":	"USB Mass Storage Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard disk drives)",
    						"name":	"Generic STORAGE DEVICE USB Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB Host Controller)",
    						"name":	"USB Composite Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"Logitech (x64)",
    						"name":	"USB Input Device (Logitech Download Assistant)"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard keyboards)",
    						"name":	"HID Keyboard Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"USB Input Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"Microsoft",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant mouse"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"Microsoft",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant consumer control device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant system controller"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant vendor-defined device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"USB Input Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant vendor-defined device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant vendor-defined device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant vendor-defined device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB HUBs)",
    						"name":	"Generic USB Hub"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"Oculus",
    						"name":	"Rift DK2 Sensor USB"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant device"
    					}]
    			}]
    	},
    	"Drivers":	[{
    			"Path":	"\\system32\\OVRDisplay64.dll",
    			"Version":	"1.2.7.0"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\system32\\OVRDisplayRT64.dll",
    			"Version":	"1.2.7.0"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\syswow64\\OVRDisplay32.dll",
    			"Version":	"1.2.7.0"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\syswow64\\OVRDisplayRT32.dll",
    			"Version":	"1.2.7.0"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\system32\\drivers\\RiftEnabler.sys",
    			"Version":	"1.2.7.0"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\system32\\OVRDisplay32.dll",
    			"Version":	"C:\\Windows\\system32\\OVRDisplay32.dll not found"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\system32\\OVRDisplayRT32.dll",
    			"Version":	"C:\\Windows\\system32\\OVRDisplayRT32.dll not found"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\system32\\drivers\\OCUSBVID.sys",
    			"Version":	"1.0.11.0"
    		}],
    	"Video Device Tree":	[{
    			"Name":	"NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960",
    			"VRAM (MB)":	1965,
    			"Monitors":	[{
    					"Name":	"\\\\.\\DISPLAY1",
    					"Width":	1920,
    					"Height":	1080,
    					"Refresh Rate":	59
    				}]
    		}, {
    			"Name":	"Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600",
    			"VRAM (MB)":	32,
    			"Monitors":	[]
    		}, {
    			"Name":	"Microsoft Basic Render Driver",
    			"VRAM (MB)":	0,
    			"Monitors":	[]
    		}],
    	"Devices":	[]
    }
    
  • fabgarciafabgarcia Posts: 1
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)
    Hi ALL,

    I´m still having problems with "No tracker attached" with the PC Runtime 0.7.0.0...
    I changed the USB ports, but nothing...
    Any sugestions?

    regards

    Fabiano.
  • Z8CZ8C Posts: 1
    edited September 2015
    [Windows 10] + [0.7 Runtime] + [355.84 drivers] do not work with 5k (Dell UP2715K) monitor attached and powered on:

    When i start "Show Demo Scene" oculus is black (led turns blue), with the following errors:
    09/10/15 02:20:54: OVR Error:
      Code: -3006 -- ovrError_DisplayInit
      System error: -2147467259 (80004005) -- Unspecified error
    
      Description: Failed to activate the display
    
    Mirror image updates with ~0.1 fps

    If i switch monitor off using power switch while running demo, oculus turns on and demo works.
    If i turn monitor on while running demo OS hangs.
    If i press escape but do not close config.utility, turn monitor on Win 10 reboots.
    If i close config.utility, i can turn monitor back on.

    It does not matter if 5k monitor active or not, only if it powered on.

    EDIT: The problem appears to be fixed in nvidia driver 356.04
    https://developer.nvidia.com/gameworks-vr-driver-support
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 21,389 Oculus Staff
    Interesting. I hadn't heard of this before.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • my rift crashes at demo scene what can i do to fix that i have the latest 0.7 sdk and runtime win 7 hd 7970 gpu please help
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 21,389 Oculus Staff
    @redman18752: Can you provide these logs? viewtopic.php?f=34&t=23521
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 21,389 Oculus Staff
    @redman18752: Also, are you using a DVI cable for your monitor? Can you use DisplayPort instead?
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • Can't get my new DK2 working quite yet unfortunately.

    I've got the runtime config to say "Oculus Rift DK2: Ready" but when I click "Show Demo Scene" it just opens a window that stays blank and never runs anything, tried reinstall and many restarts.

    I have pc, nvidia geforce gtx 670m.

    Also, I've read so far that a firmware upgrade is pretty necessary at first and may solve problems, but unfortunately in my oculusconfigutility under Tools -> Advanced there is no firmware upgrade option, only "Diagnostic Log, Disable System Tray Notifications, and Show Performance HUD" so I'm not sure how to do that either.

    Help very much appreciated. Thanks!
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 21,389 Oculus Staff
    Is it a laptop? Because laptops don't work very well.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • Yeah it is but it's a gaming laptop, asus g75vw...
  • kob123 wrote:
    Can't get my new DK2 working quite yet unfortunately.

    I've got the runtime config to say "Oculus Rift DK2: Ready" but when I click "Show Demo Scene" it just opens a window that stays blank and never runs anything, tried reinstall and many restarts.

    I have pc, nvidia geforce gtx 670m.

    Also, I've read so far that a firmware upgrade is pretty necessary at first and may solve problems, but unfortunately in my oculusconfigutility under Tools -> Advanced there is no firmware upgrade option, only "Diagnostic Log, Disable System Tray Notifications, and Show Performance HUD" so I'm not sure how to do that either.

    Help very much appreciated. Thanks!

    Having the exact same problem with AMD Radeon 290. (Not a laptop obv).
  • YoLolo69YoLolo69 Posts: 638
    Neo
    Guys, if you want some help, it's obvious you need to provide the minimum numbers and flavors:

    Which exact Operating System you're using (Windows 7 64Bits, Windows 10, etc.)

    Which exact version of video drivers (355.84, 355.60, etc.)?

    Which exact version of the Oculus runtime (0.6.0.1, 0.7.0.0, etc.)?

    And don't answer "the latest" / "the most recent" / etc. because that don't work. E.g. for NVidia you need to grab beta drivers which are not the latest official and certified drivers.

    This is far more important than Mother Board model and graphics cards (unless you're under the minimum specifications).

    “Dreams feel real while we are in them, it's only when we wake up that we realize something was strange.” - Dom Cobb

    "Be careful, if you are killed in real life you die in VR too." - TD_4242

  • YoLolo69 wrote:
    Guys, if you want some help, it's obvious you need to provide the minimum numbers and flavors:

    Windows 10 64bit.
    Oculus Runtime 0.7.0.0
    AMD Catalyst Driver 15.201.1151-150821a-1884551E
  • I installed the runtime 0.7 and now whenever I try to run something on the oculus, like Virtual Desktop or the scene demo, it restarts my PC.
    I'm using windows 7 64bits and the AMD 15.20.1062.1005 driver.
  • Hi,

    Same problem as kob123 : I have :
    - a clean Windows 10 64 bit installation,
    - Nvidia 355.84 drivers,
    - Oculus 0.7.0,
    - my primary display is on Display Port of my MSI GTX 770 OC
    - primary resolution is 1920x1200x60 hz (monitor can't go 75hz)
    - Oculus DK2 is on the HDMI

    Light stays orange whatever I do, and no video at all on the Oculus with the Demo Scene.
    In Oculus Configuration Utility : Oculus DK2 : Ready.

    Also, demo scene window is either totally blank, or we can see the scene, but with a refresh rate of about 0.1 fps, making it useless.
  • YoLolo69YoLolo69 Posts: 638
    Neo
    @fustian: Which firmware you currently have in your device?

    Also AMD seems to promote another driver version for SDK 0.7.0.0: http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-article ... river.aspx

    @christiannavelot: Did you try rebooting keeping all connected? I read other one having same problem before rebooting. And even after reboot, some have this fps problem the second time they run a DK2 application, not the first time right after reboot. So something "dirty" run with SDK 0.7.0.0 for some configuration IMO. So did you try a reboot?

    You can also try to reset the service (start/stop) or to force direct mode by using the "DirectDisplayConfig on" command through a command shell from the Oculus Tools directory.

    If nothing work, a clean uninstall and resinstall may help too.

    Good luck guys!

    “Dreams feel real while we are in them, it's only when we wake up that we realize something was strange.” - Dom Cobb

    "Be careful, if you are killed in real life you die in VR too." - TD_4242

«13456713
Sign In or Register to comment.