/ Forums
New To The Forum? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. -- Developers Click Here.

Oculus Rift and Laptops. - [April 2016 Update IT WORKS]

Cyph3rCyph3r Posts: 79
edited April 2016 in General
Hey all, I'm somewhat confused with the state of Oculus' software recently.

I own a DK1 and two DK2s. I used to have a desktop with an Intel 2500k @ 4.5GHZ, 8GB DDR3 and an MSI 7970 Lightning running Windows 7. Obviously the DK1 worked great with this.

I then sold my desktop about 6 months before the DK2 came out and I got a laptop with a Core i7 4710HQ, 8GB DDR3 and an nVidia 860m 2GB (Optimus) Running Windows 8.1. Again the DK1 worked perfectly with this and I had purchased a DK2 the second it became available and this also worked perfectly on the laptop.

I've now recently upgraded my laptop again, Core i7 4710MQ, 16GB DDR3, nvidia 970m (Optimus) running Windows 10. And for the first time I just can't get the Rift to work. My biggest issue seems to be that even though the Rift is plugged in, it's receiving power AND displaying an image, the Rift config utility says "HMD is not powered, check HDMI connection".

The way my laptop works is if anything is plugged into the HDMI port, the 970m is turned on and controls that output exclusively. So I'm very baffled to why it's returning this error. It seems like the Rift software has taken a huge step back in this regard?

I suppose my biggest question is, what is Oculus doing to remedy this? Is laptop support a priority? For people like myself with powerful gaming laptops it's a bit of a kick that it doesn't work.
DK1 - Ordered 27/09/13. 080xxx - ARRIVED 11th November 2013
DK2 - Ordered 19/03/14. AO-104xxxx - ARRIVED 29th July 2014

Intel Core i7 4710MQ @ 3.5Ghz | Nvidia GTX970M 3GB | Kingston HyperX 16Gb 1600Mhz | Samsung 850 Evo 1TB

Comments

  • shadowfroggershadowfrogger Posts: 459
    Nexus 6
    Unfortunately laptop support hasn't been on the books yet, Oculus have been pretty open with this. Mobile chip sets don't have hardware level features needed for the new direct driver mode which was implemented in sdk 0.7. Nvidia is bringing out a dedicated VR laptop very soon but I would hold off until Oculus receive it and give it the thumbs up.
    Visit my amateur homegrown indie game company website!
    http://www.gaming-disorder.com/
  • Cyph3rCyph3r Posts: 79
    Unfortunately laptop support hasn't been on the books yet, Oculus have been pretty open with this. Mobile chip sets don't have hardware level features needed for the new direct driver mode which was implemented in sdk 0.7. Nvidia is bringing out a dedicated VR laptop very soon but I would hold off until Oculus receive it and give it the thumbs up.

    Well I definitely won't be purchasing a new laptop just for the Rift. Especially seems this laptop I have now smashes through everything I chuck at it. Heck, my old laptop with an 860m played with the Rift just fine.

    Are all current gaming laptop owners just shit-outta-luck then??
    DK1 - Ordered 27/09/13. 080xxx - ARRIVED 11th November 2013
    DK2 - Ordered 19/03/14. AO-104xxxx - ARRIVED 29th July 2014

    Intel Core i7 4710MQ @ 3.5Ghz | Nvidia GTX970M 3GB | Kingston HyperX 16Gb 1600Mhz | Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
  • MradrMradr Posts: 1,714 Poster of the Week
    Cyph3r wrote:
    Unfortunately laptop support hasn't been on the books yet, Oculus have been pretty open with this. Mobile chip sets don't have hardware level features needed for the new direct driver mode which was implemented in sdk 0.7. Nvidia is bringing out a dedicated VR laptop very soon but I would hold off until Oculus receive it and give it the thumbs up.

    Well I definitely won't be purchasing a new laptop just for the Rift. Especially seems this laptop I have now smashes through everything I chuck at it. Heck, my old laptop with an 860m played with the Rift just fine.

    Are all current gaming laptop owners just shit-outta-luck then??

    Mostly... please do a bit of research ... this topic has been done to death. It's a hard limitation and not one that can be overcome by software.

    There will be new Laptops coming out that will support the rift: http://www.cnet.com/news/nvidia-squeeze ... t-support/

    There are a few SUPER high end laptops that already do this, but you are better off buying a real desktop and shrinking that instead of getting one of them.
  • GableRatchetGableRatchet Posts: 329
    Nexus 6
    Cyph3r wrote:
    Well I definitely won't be purchasing a new laptop just for the Rift

    I think that's the general view. Am I going to spend £1500+ on a new laptop and the retail Rift? No. User-friendly HMDs - with no crippling refresh rates - will soon be with us.
  • Cyph3rCyph3r Posts: 79
    Mradr wrote:
    Cyph3r wrote:
    Unfortunately laptop support hasn't been on the books yet, Oculus have been pretty open with this. Mobile chip sets don't have hardware level features needed for the new direct driver mode which was implemented in sdk 0.7. Nvidia is bringing out a dedicated VR laptop very soon but I would hold off until Oculus receive it and give it the thumbs up.

    Well I definitely won't be purchasing a new laptop just for the Rift. Especially seems this laptop I have now smashes through everything I chuck at it. Heck, my old laptop with an 860m played with the Rift just fine.

    Are all current gaming laptop owners just shit-outta-luck then??

    Mostly... please do a bit of research ... this topic has been done to death. It's a hard limitation and not one that can be overcome by software.

    There will be new Laptops coming out that will support the rift: http://www.cnet.com/news/nvidia-squeeze ... t-support/

    There are a few SUPER high end laptops that already do this, but you are better off buying a real desktop and shrinking that instead of getting one of them.


    I don't understand though, you say it's a hard limitation that can't be overcome with software, however my previous laptop with the same Optimus setup, just a lower spec GPU, ran the DK1+DK2 perfectly. It's just the new Oculus runtime that has broken the support.
    DK1 - Ordered 27/09/13. 080xxx - ARRIVED 11th November 2013
    DK2 - Ordered 19/03/14. AO-104xxxx - ARRIVED 29th July 2014

    Intel Core i7 4710MQ @ 3.5Ghz | Nvidia GTX970M 3GB | Kingston HyperX 16Gb 1600Mhz | Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
  • FezDerpFezDerp Posts: 12
    I got an Alienware 17 R3 with a 980m, i7-6820, and 16GB of RAM, and I got my rift to work just fine on windows 10 with the 0.7 runtime. just make sure you update the NVidia driver, then restart with the headset plugged in
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 20,645 Oculus Staff
    Yes, this has been done to death but I understand why it's a hot topic.

    Basically it's this: laptop are not supported, and 95% of the time, will not work at all. There are a couple special laptops that some people seem to have working, but they are extremely rare. There are also new laptops coming out probably within a month that use full desktop GTX 980 chips (NOT 980M NOT Optimus) and those should work.

    The fact that you used an older computer with an older runtime and older video drivers, that doesn't mean anything. So much has changed since DK1 and the start of DK2. The Oculus Runtime and driver package has been practically rewritten from scratch multiple times. The Nvidia and AMD drivers have evolved to support VR, and now integrate tightly with the Oculus software. Things are very different now, and have very different requirements.

    If you wish to use the DK2 with modern software, you'll have two options:

    1) Purchase a desktop machine that meets the recommended specs. You can either build one from these specs: https://www.oculus.com/en-us/blog/powering-the-rift/ or purchase an off-the-shelf system: https://www.oculus.com/en-us/oculus-ready-pcs/ . Either option will cost around $1,000.

    2) Purchase a powerful laptop with Nvidia GTX 980 GPU (again, NOT 980M and NOT Optimus). These are more expensive, probably in the $2k to $3K range, but are supposed to support VR. http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articl ... -notebooks

    I know that's not the answer you wanted, but it's the situation.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • Cyph3rCyph3r Posts: 79
    FezDerp wrote:
    I got an Alienware 17 R3 with a 980m, i7-6820, and 16GB of RAM, and I got my rift to work just fine on windows 10 with the 0.7 runtime. just make sure you update the NVidia driver, then restart with the headset plugged in

    Running the driver vers 358.50 which is the latest for my card.

    Also tried restarting with it plugged in. still the same issue.
    DK1 - Ordered 27/09/13. 080xxx - ARRIVED 11th November 2013
    DK2 - Ordered 19/03/14. AO-104xxxx - ARRIVED 29th July 2014

    Intel Core i7 4710MQ @ 3.5Ghz | Nvidia GTX970M 3GB | Kingston HyperX 16Gb 1600Mhz | Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
  • FezDerpFezDerp Posts: 12
    try 358.70, and run your global settings for graphics as the NVidia driver
  • FezDerpFezDerp Posts: 12
    the other option is: external desktop gpu. I know alienware has graphics amplifiers, I'm not sure about msi
  • Alienware does indeed offer an external GPU enclosure called the graphics amplifier. This should get you around the graphics card block. When installed your integrated graphics and m card don't even show up under hardware. Not sure of the cpu can be overcome quite as easily though, and most people will just blow your question off with "laptops are not supported" when in fact the alienware is rather niche, and deserves some proper examination.
  • Cyph3rCyph3r Posts: 79
    Necro'ing my own thread here.

    I'm happy to report that the same Optimus enabled laptop that didn't work with my DK2 and runtime 0.8, now works perfectly with the new Oculus Home Platform:



    Full thread I made about it on Reddit:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comments/4dtomo/so_optimus_laptops_work_yes/
    DK1 - Ordered 27/09/13. 080xxx - ARRIVED 11th November 2013
    DK2 - Ordered 19/03/14. AO-104xxxx - ARRIVED 29th July 2014

    Intel Core i7 4710MQ @ 3.5Ghz | Nvidia GTX970M 3GB | Kingston HyperX 16Gb 1600Mhz | Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 20,645 Oculus Staff
    You're a hero!
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • Cyph3rCyph3r Posts: 79
    edited April 2016
    You're a hero!
    :smiley: 

    Just been playing Luckeys Tale and man, even the DK2 has come a long way since I last used it!

    I am hoping that as the DK2 works, the CV1 will also work, so I feel I will be putting in an order soon!
    DK1 - Ordered 27/09/13. 080xxx - ARRIVED 11th November 2013
    DK2 - Ordered 19/03/14. AO-104xxxx - ARRIVED 29th July 2014

    Intel Core i7 4710MQ @ 3.5Ghz | Nvidia GTX970M 3GB | Kingston HyperX 16Gb 1600Mhz | Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
  • GBGrahamGBGraham Posts: 1
    The real heroes are your developers! I develop software for engineering and scientific visualization and exploring what VR could enable. The data does not push the rift to the extent the photo-realistic games do so the horse power of my MSI GT70 has been just fine in extended mode with the DK2. I've been stuck at 0.6.0.1 for some time now so it is really great to be working with the latest runtime in direct mode. My own apps are running well but I have found the commercial apps are a mixed bag. Luckeys Tale and Oculus Home run fine (showing it can be done). The 360-photo and video viewer apps fail, complaining that they require the GPU to directly drive the display (non-optimus). BlazeRush and ED time out with Oculus Home reporting that they failed to load (probably the same issue). Anyway, I'm just happy to be able to code against something more up to date. With the current runtime, the DK2 makes a great device for student projects. I hope it can continue to survive a while longer.
  • jbobo348jbobo348 Posts: 2
    It can't find my graphics card. I have a nvidia geforce gtx 970m. please help.
  • PinballsPinballs Posts: 2
    I also have an nVidia GTX 970m in an expensive MSI laptop that doesn't work with OR. If this will never be supported by Rift then that's piss-poor. In hindsight I would NOT have bought a Rift, knowing this now. Roll on Playstation VR that will work fine in (hahaha) a console!

    I wonder how many people with very high-end gaming laptops have ordered Rifts and are now disappointed? How many returns will result? Very many to both questions, I suspect, and that represents a failed launch. As I say, an extremely piss-poor effort from Rift. Shame on you.

    Will this be patched or are people like me with laptops screwed? Last purchase I ever make from OR people.
  • AtlasPwn3dAtlasPwn3d Posts: 3
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)
    The lack of HMD support for laptops is a *hardware* problem with how Nvidia Optimus is designed--it is not fixable in software and not Oculus's fault. Basically, the way Optimus works your HDMI port is (always) connected to your integrated graphics card, and when your dedicated GPU kicks in it still has to pass the completed frames to your integrated graphics which outputs them to the HDMI port--this adds terrible latency for each frame from when it is finished to when it actually gets displayed. With how tightly Oculus needs to control motion-to-photon latency across the entire stack (sensors->engine->rendering->screens) to well below 20ms *in total/for everything* for the illusion of VR to work, this added latency is insurmountable and unacceptable.
  • xi11ixxi11ix Posts: 263
    Nexus 6
    You're not screwed, you just need a laptop with a video card without an 'm' in the name. They did release a compatibility checker. If you didn't check it's your own fault.
  • dreimer1986dreimer1986 Posts: 169
    Art3mis
    edited June 2016
    Right, same story like ppl showing up in cinema at a movie I and many other ppl went to, too and noone of these few read the (OT) meaning Original Tone aka ENGLISH and then being pissed like hell. Oculus said EXACTLY which cards will be supported as bare minimum and a mobile variant is not even close to the desktop one. I am very sure there won't be many returns at all.
  • xalexxalex Posts: 24
    Lawnmower Man (or Woman)
    I was worried my msi dominator pro g219 (980m gpu) skylake cpu also, was not going to work with my rift, but low and behold its working pretty decent and I haven't even switched my laptop to high performance mode. It still says at the top of my home screen that my computer isn't up to date yadda yadda. But eve is working and demo videos and VR desktop are working and I'm about to try edge of nowhere soon. So if you have a laptop with skylake cpu and 980m,it should work,your not going to get the best settings on everything. But I'm happy to wait for 1080 gpu or 1080ti, to put in my desktop to get 90fps,untill them I'm rocking out on my laptop!
  • xi11ixxi11ix Posts: 263
    Nexus 6
    @xalex It's awesome you managed to find a laptop that works but it's still a good idea to stay away from laptops for the time being. Not only will you get better performance with a desktop, which will will reduce the risk of getting sick, but you'll get support from Oculus if you run into issues.
  • ProntoJrProntoJr Posts: 249
    Hiro Protagonist
    Any config for Vive and Rift compatible laptop?
  • xi11ixxi11ix Posts: 263
    Nexus 6
    ProntoJr said:
    Any config for Vive and Rift compatible laptop?
    If you want a good experience don't use a laptop.
  • xalexxalex Posts: 24
    Lawnmower Man (or Woman)
    edited June 2016
    xi11ix said:
    @xalex It's awesome you managed to find a laptop that works but it's still a good idea to stay away from laptops for the time being. Not only will you get better performance with a desktop, which will will reduce the risk of getting sick, but you'll get support from Oculus if you run into issues.
    Since I haven't gotten high end gpu yet, (cuz they are sold out at most places) So when I do get my gpu for my desktop, I can assume the clarity and the occasional blurriness with be like crystal clear?
  • SebyteSebyte Posts: 3
    Cyph3r said:
    Necro'ing my own thread here.

    I'm happy to report that the same Optimus enabled laptop that didn't work with my DK2 and runtime 0.8, now works perfectly with the new Oculus Home Platform:



    Full thread I made about it on Reddit:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comments/4dtomo/so_optimus_laptops_work_yes/
    How did you get to the left image? My PhysX configuration looks a lot different. I only have a select proccesor option; so even though I select the GeForce GTX 980m the display doesnt change and I can't connect the headset. 
  • GrobmGrobm Posts: 56
    DK2s work fine on GTx970-980m laptops.... rift Cv1 does not work... latest update creates a mad crazy power cycle.
  • I have a MSI Dragon series my I just bought from best buy.  It is advertised to work with VR.  It runs everything great. (even though I get the message on the rift that my system is not compatible)  The only thing I can not do is use Virtual Desktop and Big Screen.  It will not let me share my screen.  Not sure If I am missing something.  Does anyone have any ideas as to why I can run everything great but can not do this?  When my Rift is hooked up should it show up as an extra monitor in display settings in windows 10?  
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 20,645 Oculus Staff
    No, Rift does not show up as an external monitor in Windows. This is normal and intentional.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
Sign In or Register to comment.