/ Forums
New To The Forum? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. -- Developers Click Here.

Yes. Extension Cables DO work w/ CV1

cyberealitycybereality Posts: 20,194 Oculus Staff
edited March 2016 in General
Just because I was curious myself, I got some USB 3.0 and HDMI extension cables. I used them with both the sensor and the consumer headset. They're standard 10 foot passive cables. They seem to work with no problem. Cheers.
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
«13456710

Comments

  • rlabellerlabelle Posts: 213
    Hiro Protagonist
    That is awesome information thank you! The setup I have planned I will need about 5 more feet of cable, and I was wondering the same thing but figured I would have to wait till I got my CV1 to know for sure.
    Youtube: www.youtube.com/channel/UCDrvzyiqz8Qiu7 ... irmation=1
    FaceBook: www.facebook.com/The-Wombat-Cave-103351200009813/
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/TheWombatCave
    Upcoming: Sixense Stem-May,Virtuix Omni-April,HTC Vive-?,Oculus CV1-Mar.28
  • BendakBendak Posts: 60
    Lawnmower Man (or Woman)
    That's good to know. I know some devices are more finicky than others when it comes to cable length.

    Also presents another option of having short extension cables coming out of the back of your PC for easy access to plug/unplug the Rift without reaching behind your PC.
  • thhrashthhrash Posts: 13
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)
    Wonderful news! I didn't think we would be able to do passive. Once again you pull through for us 8-)
  • bp2008bp2008 Posts: 256
    Hiro Protagonist
    Any idea if USB 3.0 hubs will work (reliably, without added latency, etc)?
  • JoseJose Posts: 888
    Trinity
    edited March 2016
    Cyber can you report back about this in the future? I used extenders on DK2 and it appeared to work at first, but only after using it for a long time did I notice that there were intermittent freezing problems with the tracking, which went away when I removed the extenders. So even if extenders seem to work for the CV1, there might be problems that only show up after long term use.
  • samwatts77samwatts77 Posts: 95
    Hiro Protagonist
    Ah good to know about HDMI too, was testing USB extenders earlier in the week after Callum wasn't sure if they would work or not
    Radial-G : Racing Revolved - full launch for Oculus Rift in March 2016
    Follow on social media: Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | YouTube
  • jim1174jim1174 Posts: 72
    Hiro Protagonist
    I e-mailed oculus about this a few weeks ago and here is what they said
    Hello Jim,

    Thank you for contacting Oculus Support.

    Although Oculus has not released any information in regards to using extension cables, in general, using an extension cable can cause a slow down in data and may be noticeable.

    For the best possible experience, we would recommend not using extension cables on any of our products.

    Please let us know if you have any further questions.

    Damien
    Oculus Support
  • VizionVRVizionVR Posts: 3,021
    Wintermute
    Just because I was curious myself, I got some USB 3.0 and HDMI extension cables. I used them with both the sensor and the consumer headset. They're standard 10 foot passive cables. They seem to work with no problem. Cheers.

    Excellent news Cyber, thanks for posting the results. So with the extensions, what was the overall length?
    Not a Rift fanboi. Not a Vive fanboi. I'm a VR fanboi. Get it straight.
  • DoctorFateDoctorFate Posts: 167
    Art3mis
    That is great news indeed. I've already ordered mine since hearing that so that I a ready just in case I would need to expand.

    As a quick confirmation, I believe I've seen this already but wanted to be certain. The base out of the box length of all the cords including for the sensor is each 12 feet or four meters, correct? I want to be certain since my computer in on a desk in a corner of my living room but I want to set up my sensor on by living room table (under 12 feet from my computer) and then play from my living room couch.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 20,194 Oculus Staff
    So, here were the cables used if anyone is interested.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JJ517VI
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00C7SA21U

    Even though Rift uses HDMI 1.3, it's probably safer to get the 1.4 (4K/3D compatible) cables.

    The extension cables were 10 feet each. The headset cable is supposed to be 4 meters (I didn't measure, but sounds right), so total length of the main cable is probably around 22 feet after extension. I'm not actually sure how long the sensor cable is. It may be slightly shorter but enough to place anywhere on an average desk without extension.

    Yes, I do recall there being some problems with extension cables and DK2, but I'll keep testing on the setup and report back if there are any issues.

    I'm not sure if hubs would work, as they may be bandwidth limited.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • RABIDRABID Posts: 153
    Art3mis
    22 feet? that's awesome! had planned on running cable to a ceiling mount of some type and now it won't be an issue 8-)
  • ThreeDeeVisionThreeDeeVision Posts: 2,064 Volunteer Moderator
    Nice, should be able to do some nice long runs for cameras that need to be away from the PC.
    i7 5960X @ 3.8 GHz | Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 PC2800 | GTX Titan X | Win 10 64 bit | Asus VG278H 120 Hz 3D Monitor | EVGA X99 Classified
  • nightauditor1981nightauditor1981 Posts: 302
    Nexus 6
    That is great news indeed! Thanks for sharing :)
  • VizionVRVizionVR Posts: 3,021
    Wintermute
    Woohoo, technical information! Thank you Cyber! Is this possibly a sign of the NDA lifting, or at least, relaxing a bit?
    Not a Rift fanboi. Not a Vive fanboi. I'm a VR fanboi. Get it straight.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 20,194 Oculus Staff
    No, just me trying to make the forum a little more interesting.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • JoseJose Posts: 888
    Trinity
    You're getting ready for room-scale rifting, I see. Building your holodeck...
  • FingerMcPokeyeFingerMcPokeye Posts: 240
    Nexus 6
    USB 2.0 provides for a maximum cable length of 5 meters for devices running at Hi Speed (480 Mbit/s). The primary reason for this limit is the maximum allowed round-trip delay of about 1.5 μs. If USB host commands are unanswered by the USB device within the allowed time, the host considers the command lost. When adding USB device response time, delays from the maximum number of hubs added to the delays from connecting cables, the maximum acceptable delay per cable amounts to 26 ns.[82] The USB 2.0 specification requires that cable delay be less than 5.2 ns per meter (192 000 km/s, which is close to the maximum achievable transmission speed for standard copper wire).

    The USB 3.0 standard does not directly specify a maximum cable length, requiring only that all cables meet an electrical specification: for copper cabling with AWG 26 wires the maximum practical length is 3 meters (9.8 ft).[83]


    Also..

    http://www.yourcablestore.com/USB-Cable ... _42-1.html
  • shim2shim2 Posts: 472
    Nexus 6
    So, here were the cables used if anyone is interested.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JJ517VI
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00C7SA21U

    Even though Rift uses HDMI 1.3, it's probably safer to get the 1.4 (4K/3D compatible) cables.

    The extension cables were 10 feet each. The headset cable is supposed to be 4 meters (I didn't measure, but sounds right), so total length of the main cable is probably around 22 feet after extension. I'm not actually sure how long the sensor cable is. It may be slightly shorter but enough to place anywhere on an average desk without extension.

    Yes, I do recall there being some problems with extension cables and DK2, but I'll keep testing on the setup and report back if there are any issues.

    I'm not sure if hubs would work, as they may be bandwidth limited.

    I bought HDMI 2.0 cables. Should those work?

    Specifically this one

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GBB ... ge_o00_s00

    As well as this active usb 3.0

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DMF ... ge_o00_s00
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 20,194 Oculus Staff
    @shim2: They might. HDMI 2.0 should be fine, though the extra length may or may not be an issue. I purchased that same active USB 3.0 cable, but I haven't tried it yet. I think I might also have a 15 foot HDMI cable. If I get a chance later this week I can check.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • shim2shim2 Posts: 472
    Nexus 6
    @shim2: They might. HDMI 2.0 should be fine, though the extra length may or may not be an issue. I purchased that same active USB 3.0 cable, but I haven't tried it yet. I think I might also have a 15 foot HDMI cable. If I get a chance later this week I can check.

    Awesome, I did some read/write tests on it and it's just as fast/slightly faster(no idea how) than my USB 3.0 front ports, so it should be fine.

    Not sure what I could do to test the hdmi extension.
  • LuciferousLuciferous Posts: 1,093
    Neo
    Thanks, ordering now.

    I had to check twice it was an actual post from you. Quite out of character, are you sure Elitespa's work colleague has not accessed your account? ;)
  • YarboYarbo Posts: 2
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)
    Sorry to resurrect a dead post, but I wanted to see if I could get an answer to a question someone posted earlier. Seems like it got lost in the noise.
    bp2008 wrote:
    Any idea if USB 3.0 hubs will work (reliably, without added latency, etc)?

    Has anyone tested this? I have a USB 3.0 hub that I just got, and I'm wondering if it will work.

    Link to the specific hub:
    https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00G92 ... UTF8&psc=1
  • ZoomieZoomie Posts: 1,486
    Project 2501
    Holy crap, a comment from Cyber! I thought he wasn't allowed to comment on anything until the 28th :mrgreen:
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C Clarke
  • maxx11111maxx11111 Posts: 75
    Hiro Protagonist
    Has anyone tried any USB and hdmi cables in the UK?
  • PanoramusPanoramus Posts: 73
    Hiro Protagonist
    jim1174 said:
    I e-mailed oculus about this a few weeks ago and here is what they said
    Hello Jim,

    Thank you for contacting Oculus Support.

    Although Oculus has not released any information in regards to using extension cables, in general, using an extension cable can cause a slow down in data and may be noticeable.

    For the best possible experience, we would recommend not using extension cables on any of our products.

    Please let us know if you have any further questions.

    Damien
    Oculus Support
    :(
    i7-5820x | gtx980ti | corsair h80i v2 | ddr4 16gb | SSD x2 | win10x64
  • PanoramusPanoramus Posts: 73
    Hiro Protagonist

    shim2 said:
    So, here were the cables used if anyone is interested.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JJ517VI
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00C7SA21U

    Even though Rift uses HDMI 1.3, it's probably safer to get the 1.4 (4K/3D compatible) cables.

    The extension cables were 10 feet each. The headset cable is supposed to be 4 meters (I didn't measure, but sounds right), so total length of the main cable is probably around 22 feet after extension. I'm not actually sure how long the sensor cable is. It may be slightly shorter but enough to place anywhere on an average desk without extension.

    Yes, I do recall there being some problems with extension cables and DK2, but I'll keep testing on the setup and report back if there are any issues.

    I'm not sure if hubs would work, as they may be bandwidth limited.

    I bought HDMI 2.0 cables. Should those work?

    Specifically this one

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GBB ... ge_o00_s00

    As well as this active usb 3.0

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DMF ... ge_o00_s00
    For $30, worth a try....thanks
    i7-5820x | gtx980ti | corsair h80i v2 | ddr4 16gb | SSD x2 | win10x64
  • xGMxxGMx Posts: 7
    edited May 2016
    I picked up the 6ft version of this HDMI extender

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JJ517VI

    Detected but no video :(

    As well as the 10ft version of this

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product//B00GBBSZFE

    not detected at all

    using a GeForce 970

    ---
    update: I used the Vive's link box with the HDMI and USB extender, they worked. 
  • FingerMcPokeyeFingerMcPokeye Posts: 240
    Nexus 6
    Just tried several HDMI cables with a Female-to-Female connector.  No dice.

    I have a 3' one that showed distorted video (lots of green pixels).
    All other HDMI cables I tried showed no video at all.  I did like 4 of them.

    I've got an order in for in for one of these:  http://www.amazon.com/KabelDirekt-Extension-Cable-1080p-Ethernet/dp/B012ASW624?ie=UTF8&psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00

    I'll reply back and let you know if they work.

    No issues at all extending the USB 3.0.
  • FingerMcPokeyeFingerMcPokeye Posts: 240
    Nexus 6
    Confirmed, the above does NOT work.

    Best results so far though:  It works for a little while blinks black for a sec and comes back.  It's ultimately not usable though.  The Rift keeps "unplugging/replugging".


    Very frustrating.  My computer is situated well back from my play space so half my cable is eaten up before it becomes useful.

    @Cyber:  Any plans for Oculus to sell an approved and working extension?
«13456710
Sign In or Register to comment.