/ Forums
New To The Forum? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. -- Developers Click Here.

Doom 3 BFG Edition (RB + OpenVR)

LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
edited December 2016 in Showcase
You can find the latest version here, last updated Dec 13, 2016, 6:19 PM PST, it is based upon RB DOOM 3 BFG and OpenVR:

https://github.com/Codes4Fun/RBDOOM-3-BFG/releases/tag/1.1.0-openvr12

There is 4 ways to play:
* Seated with Gamepad or Keyboard / Mouse, view independent weapon
* Seated with Gamepad or Keyboard / Mouse, weapon attached to view
* Standing with Gamepad
* Standing with VR controllers

By default it is in standing mode, to enable seated mode in the console (~ key) type:
vr_seated 1

By default seated mode has a view independent weapon, to have the weapon attached to the view in the console type:
vr_aimLook 1

For standing mode you can set your height in the console by typing this with your height in centimeters:
vr_playerHeightCM 171

For seated mode to recenter your body (affects things like movement direction, menu direction, and tilting):
vr_resetPose

The blue circle under your feet is SteamVRs Chaperone, I can't do anything about it in the game BUT you can make it invisible by editing the file "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\config\steamvr.vrsettings" and change "CollisionBoundsColorGammaA"  to 0 (The source for this work around was http://steamcommunity.com/app/358720/discussions/0/535151589885341101/?ctp=2)

If you want to submit issues on github do it here:
https://github.com/Codes4Fun/RBDOOM-3-BFG/issues

«13

Comments

  • RABIDRABID Posts: 163
    Art3mis
    plays great! (im playing standing with a gamepad) only issue is when i hit the button to bring up the data pad it opens steam vr menu. it opens the data pad if i press it again
  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    RABID said:
    plays great! (im playing standing with a gamepad) only issue is when i hit the button to bring up the data pad it opens steam vr menu. it opens the data pad if i press it again
    Yup, that is the default button for SteamVR "Home", I can't really do anything about it, but when I was playing I got used to double tapping to open and close the PDA.
  • NjayNLNjayNL Posts: 137
    Art3mis
    awesome work leyland
  • BlaspBlasp Posts: 20
    Lawnmower Man (or Woman)
    The game launches OK but I only see HUD upon starting the mission, the rest of the screen is black.
  • BlaspBlasp Posts: 20
    Lawnmower Man (or Woman)
    Also chaperone overlay is visible, and vive controller models. The planet looks weird, with a red-green color gradient, as if with using vertex colors as a texture.
  • SyndroidSyndroid Posts: 231
    Nexus 6
    edited November 2016
    great additions!  thanks for adding vr_knockbackScale!


    Leyland said:

    r_seated 1
    r_aimLook 1
    *vr_...:)


    concerning "vr_playerHeightCM"
    For me this changes the worldscale rathr than the actual player height.
    I tried something like "30" and suddenly I was standing in a toybox version of Doom.
    But it's great to have a worldscale option. I'm sensitive to scale in VR. "168" looks about right to me.

    "pm_normalviewheight" seems to work in seated mode only.
    this way I could get the right player height in seated mode but playing standing.

    standing mode has another downside for gamepad users atm. With seated 0, I can't change "g_gunscale" anymore. 
    I don't know how the scale of the guns look when playing with motion controllers, but without them the models are too small. Can't wait to test it with Touch in the next few weeks. Awesome work so far!
  • BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 694
    Trinity
    Thanks a billion and a half! B)
  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    Syndroid said:

    *vr_...:)
    Ha ha, thank!
    Syndroid said:

    concerning "vr_playerHeightCM"
    For me this changes the worldscale rathr than the actual player height.
    I tried something like "30" and suddenly I was standing in a toybox version of Doom.
    But it's great to have a worldscale option. I'm sensitive to scale in VR. "168" looks about right to me.
    vr_playerHeightCM is intended to resize you into a full size space marine! So in standing mode if you are short it will make you taller and if you are taller it will make you shorter. In seated mode it only affects worldscale. A space marine is 194.31 cm (setting it to that height will make the world unscaled)

    For seated mode try playing with vr_resetPose instead, if you feel taller than you should sit up taller and call it or vice versa if you feel shorter. BUT currently you have to restart the game for vr_resetPose to work. I am working on a fix so you don't have to restart the game.

    Syndroid said:

    "pm_normalviewheight" seems to work in seated mode only.
    this way I could get the right player height in seated mode but playing standing.

    standing mode has another downside for gamepad users atm. With seated 0, I can't change "g_gunscale" anymore. 
    I don't know how the scale of the guns look when playing with motion controllers, but without them the models are too small. Can't wait to test it with Touch in the next few weeks. Awesome work so far!

    I have to look at what g_gunscale does and try and incorporate it in my changes.

  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    Blasp said:
    The game launches OK but I only see HUD upon starting the mission, the rest of the screen is black.
    Like you mentioned in the other thread, it sounds like you have the same issue as incrediclint but a different graphics card :/

    What operating system are you running this on?

    Blasp said:
    Also chaperone overlay is visible, and vive controller models. The planet looks weird, with a red-green color gradient, as if with using vertex colors as a texture.
    Chaperone is always visible, you can change steamvr settings to hide it, I'll add instructions to the original first post above.

    If the vive controller models are visible it sounds like you are in the dashboard, try pressing the select button.
  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    Blasp said:
    Also chaperone overlay is visible, and vive controller models. The planet looks weird, with a red-green color gradient, as if with using vertex colors as a texture.
    By any chance are you using any kind of injection driver, like VorpX or Vireio?
  • BlaspBlasp Posts: 20
    Lawnmower Man (or Woman)
    I checked again and the vive controllers are visible only if steam overlay is enabled, so I guess thats OK. Other issues persist, tough. I can see the menus, HUD and chaperone, and the game seems to be running, but the rest of the graphics is black. I have Windows 10 and no injection drivers installed.
  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    Someone else was having "opengl issues common to doom 3" and they solved it by setting:
    r_fullscreen 0
    you can do the same thing by pressing alt-enter in game.

  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    edited November 2016
    edit: this was also a duplicate post WTF!
  • SyndroidSyndroid Posts: 231
    Nexus 6
    edited November 2016
    edit: somehow the forum software posted a copy of my comment from before.
  • RABIDRABID Posts: 163
    Art3mis
    Blasp said:
    I checked again and the vive controllers are visible only if steam overlay is enabled, so I guess thats OK. Other issues persist, tough. I can see the menus, HUD and chaperone, and the game seems to be running, but the rest of the graphics is black. I have Windows 10 and no injection drivers installed.
    i had same issue, i uninstalled game deleted folder and reinstalled. was fine after that
  • SyndroidSyndroid Posts: 231
    Nexus 6
    edited November 2016
    Leyland said:

    vr_playerHeightCM is intended to resize you into a full size space marine! So in standing mode if you are short it will make you taller and if you are taller it will make you shorter. In seated mode it only affects worldscale. A space marine is 194.31 cm (setting it to that height will make the world unscaled)

    For seated mode try playing with vr_resetPose instead, if you feel taller than you should sit up taller and call it or vice versa if you feel shorter. BUT currently you have to restart the game for vr_resetPose to work. I am working on a fix so you don't have to restart the game.


    Hm,  pm_normalviewheight works pretty good for changing the player height (without affecting the worldscale) 
    However, I'm happy stuff like this can be easily modified via the configs and without needing programming skills.

    on a different note; I noticed some framedrops in certain situations.
    it happens often while looking through windows, those glass shaders seem to be demanding.
    Maybe I can try fixing that myself by editing some material files or so.
    And sometimes there are fps drops between rooms. I guess this has to do with how the engine loads and unloads the map assets, so I assume there is not much that can be done about it?

    anyway, I'm sure I'll have more questions and suggestions once I've tried it with Touch controllers,. :D 
    I'm curious to see how the analog sticks will work for example.
    Seated mode works near perfect for me.

  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    Syndroid said:

    on a different note; I noticed some framedrops in certain situations.
    it happens often while looking through windows, those glass shaders seem to be demanding.
    Maybe I can try fixing that myself by editing some material files or so.
    And sometimes there are fps drops between rooms. I guess this has to do with how the engine loads and unloads the map assets, so I assume there is not much that can be done about it?

    I don't notice the framerate drops with windows (probably my 980 ti) but I do get the occasional quick one between rooms. There is also sometimes where it autosaves and no updates occur for a number of seconds. Hopefully someday soon Valve will give us ATW/ASW, then I think even loading screens will update.

    I was also kind of hoping someone would create an OpenVR wrapper for Oculus SDK, and avoid SteamVR and take advantage of their features. I might do that some day, if I get the time.

    Syndroid said:

    anyway, I'm sure I'll have more questions and suggestions once I've tried it with Touch controllers,. :D 
    I'm curious to see how the analog sticks will work for example.
    Seated mode works near perfect for me.


    It is very likely going to require tuning, I am having a field day right now with the fact that I don't have a Vive and some Vive users are not happy with the controls and I've realized that touchpads don't map well to joysticks.

  • BlaspBlasp Posts: 20
    Lawnmower Man (or Woman)
    Blasp said:
    I checked again and the vive controllers are visible only if steam overlay is enabled, so I guess thats OK. Other issues persist, tough. I can see the menus, HUD and chaperone, and the game seems to be running, but the rest of the graphics is black. I have Windows 10 and no injection drivers installed.
    It works now, turns out I had some previous mods in Doom 3 directory interfering with this mod, reinstall solved the issue.

    Playing an actual AAA game in VR is amazing, best Vive game by far IMHO.
  • BlaspBlasp Posts: 20
    Lawnmower Man (or Woman)
    Is there any way to rebind the controls on Vive controllers? Default movement scheme is way too complex for me, Id like to have simple button press to move forward..
  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    Blasp said:
    Is there any way to rebind the controls on Vive controllers? Default movement scheme is way too complex for me, Id like to have simple button press to move forward..
    What version are you using? Version 5 or 6? I updated it early today and removed an experiment I tried yesterday. The update simplifies it but not as simple as being a button.

    I ordered a Vive, so I literally will not know what I am doing until I can actually try it myself. I tried using the Steam Controller to see if it will emulate it but I wasn't experiencing the weird issues people were complaining about.

    I also have a thread in the Steam community as well http://steamcommunity.com/app/250820/discussions/0/208684375415458884/

  • breammasterbreammaster Posts: 20
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)
    Are you guys implementing a look to turn mode or comfort turn mode? I tried it but I'm getting super queasy playing. It looks great but I can't last more than a few minutes.
  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    Are you guys implementing a look to turn mode or comfort turn mode? I tried it but I'm getting super queasy playing. It looks great but I can't last more than a few minutes.
    I don't know exactly what your setup is (game controller, etc) but it might work to play in standing mode.
  • breammasterbreammaster Posts: 20
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)
    I'm using the Xbox controller. I want to be able to physically turn and then have the character turn as well. Not sure what option to turn on for that. So standing mode allows this? Is that VR_seated 1  ?
  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    I'm using the Xbox controller. I want to be able to physically turn and then have the character turn as well. Not sure what option to turn on for that. So standing mode allows this? Is that VR_seated 1  ?
    vr_seated 1 is seated mode, you want vr_seated 0
  • breammasterbreammaster Posts: 20
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)
    Just tried that. The turning works now. But the position of my player is now below ground.
  • breammasterbreammaster Posts: 20
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)
    And my player it is set to 179
  • breammasterbreammaster Posts: 20
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)
    Fixed it ! I had to reset my floor in Steam VR. So now it's all working, I'm loving it! Thanks man!
  • Bavinck1331Bavinck1331 Posts: 50
    Hiro Protagonist
    I have probably looked straight past it but is there a list of all of the possible console commands?
  • jayhawkjayhawk Posts: 533
    Neo
    just got this working. Wow being in VR sure shows it's graphical age.
  • Thane_Thane_ Posts: 217
    Nexus 6
    Be sure to check out some of the mods for Doom 3, there were tons of them back in the day and some of them have been ported 2 BFG. On Reddit right now there is a big threat about one particular overhaul mod that actually looks really good on the gun sounds sound great. I highly recommend turning down the walk speed since we are so used to experiencing the world passing us by at a certain rate.

    Edit: here they are if anyone is interested.
    https://m.reddit.com/r/Vive/comments/5f86qw/how_to_get_console_commands_to_save_in_doom_3_bfg/

    https://m.reddit.com/r/Vive/comments/5f5zdj/doom_3_bfg_vr_ultimate_hd_it_really_increases_the/
«13
Sign In or Register to comment.