cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you fix a teleportation point in space relative to a moving object?

craigotronprime
Honored Guest
I slapped a teleportation point as the child of a sphere, which I can move around my scene and teleport to, but there are still a few issues to work through:
- the ColumnGlow of the teleportation point swings around wildly as the ball rolls around the scene.
- the orientation of the player following teleportation is the same as the sphere, so it's basically random and very disorienting.
- If the ball rolls out of sight, you can't teleport at all.

Ideally, I'd like to lose ColumnGlow altogether and have a press of the A button teleport the player to a spot just slightly off to a side of the ball.

I assume this is a pretty easy thing, but I'm a terrible coder, so I thought I'd seek out a little help.

Thanks in advance!
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

weasel47
Heroic Explorer
If you're only changing the player's transform.position and not rotation, the player's rotation won't change.

View solution in original post

weasel47
Heroic Explorer
I'm guessing another script is calling the GetDestTransform function from this script?  Over in that other script is where a change would need to be made...

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

craigotronprime
Honored Guest
I managed to get rid of ColumGlow just by unticking the Mesh Renderer. Now Ijust need to fix the orientation of the teleport point and make teleportation line-of-sight independent. Any help is mightily appreciated.

weasel47
Heroic Explorer
I don't know what ColumnGlow is,  but....

If you have an object in the position you want the player to teleport to, all you have to do is change the player's transform.position by setting it equal to the other object's transform.position 

craigotronprime
Honored Guest