/ Forums
New To The Forum? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. -- Developers Click Here.

Installation failure

tappatappa Posts: 47
I have uninstall old runtime.
I have run ccleaner 
download the 800MB file, 
shows:
Installing...
Restart Computer.
Sorry, ... contact Oculus support.

I have run the instalation in admin mode.

I dont find Oculus in AppData/Local

«1

Comments

  • smithysjsmithysj Posts: 11
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)
    same here, ive tried 15 times now....tried lots of fixes, no luck!!!!
  • lovethislovethis Posts: 3,017 Poster of the Week
    edited March 2016
    Same here after a I had to do a system restore point on my PC. Tells me to restart my PC and it doesn't install and just tells me to contact Oculus Support. All this started with trying to install that crappy Elite Dangerous. I've had more problems with that game that I care to mention. 

    Before it was easy to just reinstall the Runtimes but Runtime 1.3 won't let me reinstall it? Please, How do I reinstall it without it first telling me to restart my Pc and then it saying it has failed to install and to contact Oculus Support? I just purchased some games and want to play them?
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 21,377 Oculus Staff
    Can you open a File Explorer window and paste this in the URL field:
    %LOCALAPPDATA%\Oculus\

    Then look for "OculusSetup.log" and sent that to me.

    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • tappatappa Posts: 47
    Like I said, it does not exists.
  • tappatappa Posts: 47
    It was there, I have tried a few thing, I have removed it, I have retried several times and it never recreated it.
  • lovethislovethis Posts: 3,017 Poster of the Week
    edited March 2016
    I am just restoring an Image I took of my C: drive when everything was working perfect with 1.3, if that doesn't fix it I'll post here again. Trying to install Elite Dangerous ruined it for me. Having to login on the desktop before you start the game ect. Think they need to come up with something better.
  • tappatappa Posts: 47
    I have created a folder Oculus (aparently it was not able to create it) now I have a file OculusSetup.log.
    the file end with the following lines. Clearly even if I run the program in Admin mode it canot modify my computer. I realy dont understand. I have installed several programs.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    [Warning] [3/28/2016 6:18:53 PM] Rolling back installation.
    [Debug] [3/28/2016 6:18:53 PM] Uninstall 'Install all downloaded packages.' succeeded.
    [Debug] [3/28/2016 6:18:53 PM] Uninstall 'Set up C:\Program Files (x86)\Oculus and OVRLibrarian.' succeeded.
    [Debug] [3/28/2016 6:18:53 PM] Uninstall 'Install necessary redistributables.' succeeded.
    [Debug] [3/28/2016 6:19:07 PM] Removing temp directory.
    [Warning] [3/28/2016 6:19:07 PM] Couldn't remove temp directory.
    [Debug] [3/28/2016 6:19:07 PM] Exiting with code 1.
  • PopopinselPopopinsel Posts: 179
    Art3mis
    edited March 2016
    tappa said:
    It was there, I have tried a few thing, I have removed it, I have retried several times and it never recreated it.
    OK, let's try to get this thing sorted out:

    1. Run the Oculus Setup.
    2. Let it download the whole package until it eventually fails and tells you to reboot your computer. DON'T DO THIS.
    3. Open Windows Explorer (WIN + E on your keyboard).
    4. In the address bar enter %LOCALAPPDATA%\Oculus. There you should find OculusSetup.log.
    5. If it tells you it can't find the directory specified try going manually to "C:\Users\<YourWindowsAccountName>\AppData\Local\Oculus" and search for the log file.
    6. Inside the file, towards the end, you should find an exception error like "System.Security.AccessControl.CommonAcl.ThrowIfNotCanonical()".

    To fix this do the following:
    1. Press WIN + R on your keyboard, type in regedit and hit Enter.
    2. Right-click "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE" and select "Permissions...". If it doesn't throw an error message, hit Cancel on the Permissions dialog box.
    3. Repeat the steps for:
        HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE
        HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node
        HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Oculus VR, LLC (this is most likely the issue)
        any registry keys underneath the above one
    4. When an error message pops up telling you that the permissions order is wrong just hit "Reorder" and click OK on the following Permissions dialog box.
    5. Try Oculus Setup again.

    Tell us how it worked!
  • tappatappa Posts: 47
    No, this is not the proble. I dont have that message on OculusSetup.log and I have already try to Reorder trick.
  • tappatappa Posts: 47
    I still have the same error about removing the temp directory
    -----------------
    [Debug] [3/28/2016 6:34:04 PM] Removing temp directory.
    [Warning] [3/28/2016 6:34:04 PM] Couldn't remove temp directory.
    [Debug] [3/28/2016 6:34:04 PM] Exiting with code 1.
  • NovitczNovitcz Posts: 5
    edited March 2016
    Same issue for me...
    Here's the last part of the log with errors:
    ...
    [Error] [28/03/2016 18:31:29] Process C:\Program Files (x86)\Oculus\Support\oculus-runtime\OVRServiceLauncher.exe exited with code -559034355.
    [Debug] [28/03/2016 18:31:29] Install 'Activate the Oculus Runtime.' failed.
    [Warning] [28/03/2016 18:31:29] Rolling back installation.
    [Error] [28/03/2016 18:31:31] Process C:\Program Files (x86)\Oculus\Support\oculus-runtime\OVRServiceLauncher.exe exited with code -559034355.
    ...

  • PopopinselPopopinsel Posts: 179
    Art3mis
    tappa said:
    I still have the same error about removing the temp directory
    -----------------
    [Debug] [3/28/2016 6:34:04 PM] Removing temp directory.
    [Warning] [3/28/2016 6:34:04 PM] Couldn't remove temp directory.
    [Debug] [3/28/2016 6:34:04 PM] Exiting with code 1.
    This is just a warning message, not an error, you can ignore that, it's perfectly fine. The problem is the Exit Code 1 so there must have gone something wrong before in the log. Try to search for the term [Error] in the log file (with brackets) and post the exception.
  • tappatappa Posts: 47
    Only one error:
    ----------------------
    [Debug] [3/28/2016 6:18:53 PM] Installing oculus-runtime.
    [Error] [3/28/2016 6:18:53 PM] Process C:\Program Files (x86)\Oculus\Support\oculus-librarian\OVRLibrarian.exe exited with code 7.
    [Debug] [3/28/2016 6:18:53 PM] Install 'Install all downloaded packages.' failed.
  • PopopinselPopopinsel Posts: 179
    Art3mis
    What anti-virus application do you use? Did you try turning it off before running the Oculus setup? Do you have turned off UAC?
  • NovitczNovitcz Posts: 5
    Yep I turned off UAC and my anti-virus and it stills do the same thing...
  • lovethislovethis Posts: 3,017 Poster of the Week
    edited March 2016
    Once you get your systems working, I advise you to get a program called Aomei. It's a free backup program and allows you to take an image of your C: drive when you know everything is running perfect. That's what got me out of this mess. Anyways, Good luck. I'm sure you'll figure it.
  • tappatappa Posts: 47
    UAC is "Default" and I have desable McAfee.
    I never had to desable McAfee to install anything on this computer.
  • PopopinselPopopinsel Posts: 179
    Art3mis
    tappa,

    which OS are you running? Is it fully patched?
  • tappatappa Posts: 47
    Windows 7 Entreprise Service Pack 1
    64-bit.
    It is a workstation with 64GB and 2 GTX-980 and 6 cores.
  • tappatappa Posts: 47
    edited March 2016
    Windows is up to date.
    I have the latest NVIDIA driver.
  • PopopinselPopopinsel Posts: 179
    Art3mis
    tappa,

    did you customize any Windows service? Here the disabled Windows Firewall service was the culprit: https://forums.oculus.com/community/discussion/comment/349120/#Comment_349120
  • tappatappa Posts: 47
    No, nothing special. I have been able to run all DK2 demos, I was a beta tester for EveValkiri.
    The only problem that I have some time with this computer is that I have to run some application in Admin mode. (not DK2)
  • tappatappa Posts: 47
    Dont give up on me...
  • jramseyjramsey Posts: 1
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)

    I have the same issue.  "OVRLibrarian.exe exited with code 7 (failure)".  I have Windows Firewall settings that are not under my control as they are controlled by a Group Access Policy setup by our IT department.  Not sure if the are related, but I am unable to get anywhere with my install.


  • GandamanGandaman Posts: 3
    I'm running into the same issue with no resolution.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 21,377 Oculus Staff
    Please uninstall McAfee completely. I've heard of issues when this software will conflict, even if you think you told it to disable. ZoneAlarm and Comodo are also problematic as they always run in the background, even when "disabled".
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    PowerColor RX 480 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • tappatappa Posts: 47
    edited March 2016
    The problem WAS McAfee. I have install home. THANKS for the support!
  • PopopinselPopopinsel Posts: 179
    Art3mis
    jramsey said:

    I have the same issue.  "OVRLibrarian.exe exited with code 7 (failure)".  I have Windows Firewall settings that are not under my control as they are controlled by a Group Access Policy setup by our IT department.  Not sure if the are related, but I am unable to get anywhere with my install.


    If there are Windows Group Policies applied to your PC then there's a bazillion things that could prevent a successful installation, from security to network permissions, AppLocker policies or what else not.

    You can view all applied Group Policies like this:
    1. Open up a command prompt (right click on the start menu icon or WIN + R and type cmd).
    2. Type gpresult /h %temp%\gpresult.html
    3. Open Windows (File) Explorer and in the address bar type %temp% and hit enter.
    4. Look for gpresult.html, open it and try to find policies that prevent application installations or their execution.

    I would assist you on reading and interpreting gpresult.html but it might contain sensible information about your company's IT infrastructure, so please don't post it here unless you know you're allowed to.
  • observerobserver Posts: 6
    Virtual Boy (or Girl)
    I'm getting the same error.  All i wanted to do was play a game with my DK2, and now i have to go through all this trouble because there's no more separate runtimes pre-1.3.  Ugh.
«1
Sign In or Register to comment.