New To The Forum? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. -- Developers Click Here.

Oculus Home (SDK 1.3) and DK1

2

Comments

  • zoostzoost Posts: 13
    Bummer, it seems like they actively shut us DK1 owners out. I understand that you cannot support backwards compatibility with the DK1 forever, but it would be nice if they allowed us to tinker with the software to let us use the Oculus Home software with our old DK's while the CV1 are not readily available.  
  • zoostzoost Posts: 13
    I found a quote here from someone from oculus stating "DK1 should function as a test setup"

    https://forums.oculus.com/community/discussion/28954/dk1-compatibility

    I remind the forum moderator to state the same in the recent past
  • MehektetMehektet Posts: 2
    I cannot get my DK1 to work at all with windows 10.  It says my HMI is not connected when it is.  I tried all previous versions of the SDKs and none of them work.  Dows anyone have a way to still use the DK1 with windows 10?  If so please let me know.
  • MehektetMehektet Posts: 2
    Where can I still download the configuration utility?  Each time I download the sdk it is not there.

  • PathlessNomadPathlessNomad Posts: 21
    Brain Burst
    The configuration utility is installed as part of the runtime. You can get that at: https://developer.oculus.com/downloads/ 
    Choose PC as platform and 8.0.0-beta as the runtime. It works fine for me with Windows 10 and a DK1. The config utility can be access in your system tray.

  • MindweaverMindweaver Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    Has anyone tried the new 1.3.1 update? I'm currently at work and will have to wait till tonight to test.. I hope it's fixed.
  • celt2000celt2000 Posts: 7
    Does anyone here play Project CARS? Only, I decided to roll my SDK driver back to 0.8 which was on my hard drive, and it would seem as if the latest patch from SMS for PCARS (which I think is 10.1) totally breaks DK1 support. How is it that these patches and updates for games so that they can run the CV1 seem to be at the expense of functionality for all legacy devices? Gonna sign into the SMS forums because I was an early backer in the development process, and see what they say about it. I'm not proposing that DK1/2 owners get to be top of the pile, obviously we come behind the people who've paid top dollar for the latest hardware. I'm just a little disillusioned with VR and the development process, it's like, I know the devs haven't gone out of their way to prohibit our devices being used for applications like pCARS, but the end result is the same; my DK1 gathering dust, and me losing faith in VR. Just seems like it's going to be yet another facet of entertainment governed by red tape, fresh revenue, buy-outs and empty promises.
  • MelhadfMelhadf Posts: 26
    Managed to find a way around this mess... it involves forgetting about oculus from now on as 1.3 has abandoned us.

    1. Install 0.8,
    2. install steamVR,
    3(a). Look for Vive games that are seated/standing.  
    3(b). Ignore oculus only games, 1.3 means they are dead to us
    4. Select SteamVR mode at startup.
    5. Enjoy

    That means Luckys Tale and the other rift exclusives are beyond us, however we also can't access oculus home, which at time of writing seems to be a blessing for anyone that plays games via steam as there seems to be some hooking issues.

    I'd like to thank oculus for abandoning us.  As we have sidestepped the oculus home issues and aren't subject to the bizarre hooks they want into ALL VR games ran on CV1 and DK2's.
  • MindweaverMindweaver Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    Just using SteamVR works with .8 thanks @Melhadf ! I bought and played Adventure Time last night for my kids, but honestly it's such a well made game for 5 bucks I really like it myself. I'm just so fed up with Oculus that I canceled my CV1 order last night. I'll be getting a Vive when I have the funds ready. I'll be buying more games tonight in Steam. I actually loaded up "The Lab" with my dk1 and the new Valve screen looks awesome. I can't do anything once I'm in but look around and even then, it was still worth downloading to only do that...
  • MelhadfMelhadf Posts: 26
    My pleasure @Mindweaver.  I highly recommend Apollo 11 VR.  All the angles are perfect for the DK1 so nothing is really lost either.
  • MindweaverMindweaver Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    edited April 2016
    @Melhadf yea, I played an early build of Apollo 11 VR and it was amazing. I'm going to pick it up as well. I bought Space Bit Attack last night and it's really good. I'm going to pick up CDF Starfighter tonight or tomorrow. I really want to buy Eve Gunjack, but I need someone to confirm that the xbox controller works with it. I've tried all the Vive free stuff and everything plays and has tracking, but I can't do anything with out the vive controllers.
  • MelhadfMelhadf Posts: 26
    I may have bought Gunjack, so that's another non-CV1 game us DK1 users can play :D

    It works fine with the 360 pad, though a couple of the controls are slightly different from the prompts.... I put a post on the steam forum with the differences.  Let me know how CDF is, I've been eyeing it up since release.
  • jmalinowski83jmalinowski83 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Hey guys can any of y'all help me figure out how to play half-life 2 in steam VR where it's like actual Vr and not sitting in a room with a giant screen VR . I'm on 8 runtime thanks
  • MindweaverMindweaver Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    edited April 2016
    Melhadf said:
    I may have bought Gunjack, so that's another non-CV1 game us DK1 users can play :D

    It works fine with the 360 pad, though a couple of the controls are slightly different from the prompts.... I put a post on the steam forum with the differences.  Let me know how CDF is, I've been eyeing it up since release.
    Thanks man! I bought Gunjack after reading you bought it and it's really good for $9.99. We need to get together a list somewhere with what stuff works for DK1 with SteamVR. I bought CDF and it's not good.. It works but the whole control system can't be reconfigured. I've requested a refund from Steam. I'll pick it up when they are finished with it. I've been playing ED and it will tide me over.

    Hey guys can any of y'all help me figure out how to play half-life 2 in steam VR where it's like actual Vr and not sitting in a room with a giant screen VR . I'm on 8 runtime thanks

    Go here
  • charlie177charlie177 Posts: 24
    Brain Burst
    Any news on this issue?

    I'm a DK1 only developer and I don't know what's going on with Oculus share, is all the demos being moved the new 'Oculus concepts' or is it restricted?
  • jonjon Posts: 295
    Nexus 6
    edited April 2016
    Any chance using the last pre-1.0 SDK with OpenVR through Steam works?

    edit: Nevermind, I see someone made the same suggestion on page 2.  That'll learn me.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 22,757 Oculus Staff
    edited April 2016
    Sorry, as far as I've heard, DK1 is not supported any longer. I can certainly ask the team if this is something simple that can be fixed, but I wouldn't hold my breath. Thanks.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • MindweaverMindweaver Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    edited May 2016
    Sorry, as far as I've heard, DK1 is not supported any longer. I can certainly ask the team if this is something simple that can be fixed, but I wouldn't hold my breath. Thanks.
    Thanks cybereality! If it's something easy to add back that would be great. A lot of us are stuck with only a dk1 until we get our CV1... It's frustrating to see people using Deepoon E2 with v1.3 and it lacks positional tracking as well and here I am with a development kit that doesn't work with the latest sdk. Oh and to make things worse.. The Deepoon E2 users told me I was ugly and I can't read good..
  • JaromJarom Posts: 10
    edited April 2016
    So DK1 and 0.8 still work with SteamVR so many of the VR games are still playable via that. Not gonna lie when I say I feel rather confused when Valve is treating Oculus users better than Oculus. Of course DK1 was pre-facebook time so perhaps DK1 is no longer considered first-party hardware. It makes things like this seem pretty reasonable when generally I don't condone such blatant hacking.

    Edit: I should add that I have tried the linked hack to play Lucky's Tale on DK1. Nothing showed on the headset but tracking worked so I scaled up the resolution on my TV via the registry, rubberbanded my headset to my controller and played it like a wii game and it worked alright. Nothing spectacular or worth the effort but it did work.
  • MindweaverMindweaver Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    edited April 2016
    Jarom said:
    So DK1 and 0.8 still work with SteamVR so many of the VR games are still playable via that. Not gonna lie when I say I feel rather confused when Valve is treating Oculus users better than Oculus. Of course DK1 was pre-facebook time so perhaps DK1 is no longer considered first-party hardware. It makes things like this seem pretty reasonable when generally I don't condone such blatant hacking.

    Edit: I should add that I have tried the linked hack to play Lucky's Tale on DK1. Nothing showed on the headset but tracking worked so I scaled up the resolution on my TV via the registry, rubberbanded my headset to my controller and played it like a wii game and it worked alright. Nothing spectacular or worth the effort but it did work.
    Yea, I'm a little upset with Oculus over this as well. Example: I can't play a game I know is on Oculus home like Adventure Time and the Rose, but I can on SteamVR. It's a little frustrating, because I would have bought games day one on Oculus home, but so far SteamVR has my money. I thought for sure because Luckey even said they would support Development Kits. I was hoping to at least build my Oculus Home library before I received my CV1. Oh and like I posted above a user posted on Reddit that they purchased a Deepoon D2 and it works just fine with Oculus Home... and it lacks Positional tracking.. I know @cybereality is busy, but I hope he comes back with some good news.
  • socapexsocapex Posts: 1
    Same here. Head tracking works in Unity but no video feed :/ Going to test out 0.8.
  • MindweaverMindweaver Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    Nothing @cybereality ? I know you are very busy, but do you have anything you can share? Thanks!
  • jonjon Posts: 295
    Nexus 6
    The DK1 is probably never going to see official support in Oculus Home because it works directly against what Oculus is trying to offer through their store front in contrast to Steam - a polished, reliable and high quality experience.  I don't mean this as a glib slight, but an acknowledgement that the DK1 constrains potential usage in a way the DK2 does not due to it's lack of positional tracking.  Supporting it in Oculus Home would open a can of worms Oculus probably doesn't want to, and shouldn't address.  I'd rather they spend their time catering to CV1, Touch and the improvements needed on Oculus Home than commit any resources to supporting an obsoleted developer kit.

    Valve, on the other hand, has a store model that's much more accommodating to the DK1 as it currently stands because they prioritize device/OS support over guaranteeing any sort of quality level across devices.  Many VR and non-VR applications have been released or introduced through Early Access to become abandoned, wither and eventually break (while remaining listed in their store).  On the plus side it's also a system that promotes an indie developer atmosphere, and in these early days of VR a lot of content will come to the HMDs precisely through indie developers.

    For what it's worth, I suspect DK2 will be abandoned within a year as well.  Likely, after Oculus has caught up on CV1 shipping and after the Touch has launched, they'll use the lack of support for Touch on the DK2 as a reason to officially drop support for it from Oculus Home.

    The near future of VR HMD release cycles will be more like cell phones than consoles as 'game changing' bells and whistles are added to future iterations at a staggering pace.   With Oculus aspiring to be more like Apple than Android, don't expect old models to hang around for a particularly long time.
  • MindweaverMindweaver Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    edited May 2016
    @jon - I thought the same thing, but another guy posted on reddit that his Deepoon E2 works just fine on Oculus home and it lacks positional tracking... So, what this tells me is just wait til something better comes along from china.. and don't get me wrong I support not keeping support for old hmd's forever, but not until they are readily available... Trust me I wouldn't need for my dk1 to work with home if I could buy a CV1 and have it now.. Not wait months down the road. Sorry if it sounds like I'm ranting.. I'm just frustrated. That I can play most of the 3rd party game for Oculus just fine using steamvr, but not be able to use Home..
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 22,757 Oculus Staff
    As far as I know DK1 is no longer supported. DK2 will only be supported through the end of the year, to support game developers that are in the midst of development and are not able to get enough consumer kits for their needs. The focus now is on the consumer version and, really, the whole point of the developer kits was to prepare for the consumer version. Now that the consumer kit is out, it only makes sense to focus the effort there. Hope that makes sense.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • MindweaverMindweaver Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    Fair enough @cybereality thanks for the response.
  • david3dwooddavid3dwood Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    DK1 owner.   very very unhappy with OUCHculus right now........................................................   why did I ever support this group -  now when they have so much -      I know we bought into the whole beta program development timeframe but seriously how hard could a back compatible driver be to create -  just take some things out...
  • david3dwooddavid3dwood Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    and whatever happened to the CV1 pricepoint of about $350?    doesnt anybody see how its going tocost 800 after you through in the hand controllers?????    seriously people wake up.
  • MindweaverMindweaver Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    edited May 2016
    @david3dwood sadly that's why our dk1's don't work now, because they took stuff out.. When they could have just left it in.. Honestly, this pretty much sealed the deal on me buying a Vive or wait for better Chinese headsets.

    I've said it a few times in here, and oddly nobody thinks it's an issue with everyone being silent about it... You can buy a Deepoon E2 right now that works with Oculus home and all the games and it's nothing more than a DK2 without positional tracking. I hope Oculus gets back on the right track, but I doubt it at this point. It's obvious they are worried more about money than VR at this point. Palmer said they would not stop dk user from using home.. He needs to talk to his investors, before talking out of turn.. He might be the face of the company, but it's clear it's not his company anymore. The guy that carried around duck taped together homemade hmd's would have wanted as many people to use VR as possible. I'm not blaming Luckey by no means, the good guy we all invested our money into is still in there somewhere. I'm blaming myself for trusting a company that is clearly looking to gain back 2 billion dollars as quickly as possible. /rant

    At some point all the shortages will clear up and we'll all be able to walk into a bestbuy or walmart and buy an HMD. But at this rate how knows.. I've seen monkeys have shit fights at the zoo more organized than this mess...
  • MindweaverMindweaver Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    edited May 2016
    Oh and I just want to add that I played a lot of Vive games last night with my DK1 with my Leap motion attached to the front of it. I played "The Lab" and the "Budget Cuts Demo".. Now, I can start buying Vive games before my Vive arrives..

    Maybe when Oculus figures out how Valve is able to let everyone use SteamVR I'll be able to use home before I get a CV1.. If I get a CV1 at this point.. I know Valve didn't create the plugin for Leap to work as Vive controllers, but the fact that I can't load up every Vive game and see it in my DK1 is pretty cool and not a black screen like I see in v1.3.x.

    Oh just to show no hard feelings I hope Oculus makes a bunch of Money today!
2
Sign In or Register to comment.