cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Medium --> Zbrush --> 3D print workflow

kentcaldwell
Explorer
Hi all, I'm a huge fan of Medium and a long time user of Zbrush. I've done a quick write up on my workflow to prep a Medium sculpt for 3D printing, using some of Zbrush's tools and plugins (Trim Rectangle, Decimation Master, etc.) Thought it might be useful to post here:

http://kentcaldwell.blogspot.com/2017/02/oculus-medium-with-zbrush-vr-to-3d.html

For those reading, I'm assuming a basic familiarity with Zbrush, but if anyone has questions, reply to this thread and I'll try to clarify.

-Kent
9 REPLIES 9

monstersandmachines
Heroic Explorer
Awesome job. I'm definitely interested in 3D printing some of my sculpts so this is great information. Thanks for sharing.

jessicazeta
Heroic Explorer
Wow, that turned out great!!

Gamerrangerbob
Explorer
Great job, I am a hobbyist and playing with medium but wanted to print a sculpt of characters I tell my daughter as stories ... I tried exporting the obj but it ended up at 1.6gb and photoshop won't read it. is this the normal size of the obj when you import into z brushorIam i doing something wrong. the preview obj imports fine. I just want to set a size dimension and hopefully reduce the sculpt to a size shapeways can accept (68mb). Sorry if hijacking your post.

MattHickman
Rising Star
Yeah, the exported OBJs are very large right now due to the way we convert from our format in Medium to external meshes. For now... but soon... 

kentcaldwell
Explorer
I don't think any of my sculpts have been that large in file size... but... even if they are large(ish) files, if you manage to get them open in Zbrush, a quick pass through its Decimation master and then a resave should get an STL or OBJ to a much more reasonable size, without too much noticeable decrease in resolution...

jojocircusmonke
Explorer