cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why can't I use Gear VR while laying down?

TheMarco
Explorer
I'm completely baffled by the fact that the Gear VR cannot be used while laying down. I thought nothing would be nicer than to enjoy VR content, play games, watch Milk VR videos etc. while laying in bed before going to sleep. But alas, it does not work. At best you can watch Netflix in Void theater but that's about the only thing that works when you're not sitting upright.

Whyyyyyy???? Samsung, Oculus, being an engineer I know there's really no technical reason for this to not be possible. I sincerely hope this will be fixed in an update. I'm really disappointed that I can't use my Gear VR in this way, Was this use case deliberately overlooked or is this some kind of huge 'oops!' on Samsung / Oculus' side?
26 REPLIES 26

metros269
Protege
I believe it has to do with the gyroscopic sensors. It knows the orientation of the phone unit and it sees it as looking up. Of couse they can probably add some setting to compensate but there are none as far as I've seen. I try to rest view which works for a bit but goes back to 'normal' when you change videos or apps etc

TheMarco
Explorer
I totally get the technicalities of it. But from an engineering point of view the only thing that would need to happen is change the zero value for what's horizontal by 90 degrees through some user setting or even by detecting automatically. I'm just so surprised that apparently no one thought of the fact that people will want to use this laying on the couch or in bed?!

thealgorithm
Protege
Doesn't the Re-orient option work in the master options menu? Not tried that myself yet actually

STUJAMR
Protege
turn off tracking at least at the app level Most viewers allow this

AnotherCrazyCan
Adventurer