New To The Forum? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. -- Developers Click Here.

New Unity UI + OVR Look-Based Input HOWTO

124»

Comments

• Thank you so much, I've been trying to implement this myself but found it kinda hard to do. Great work :)
  • Very nice :)
  • BudlogBudlog Posts: 3
    edited April 2016
    Hello and thanks for sharing,

I have problem. Everithing works fine with WR enabled without oculus connected. But i cant click on buttons when oculus is connected. I thing there is issue with:

lookPosition.x = Screen.width/2;
    lookPosition.y = Screen.height/2;

I think the reason is in lookPosition is Vector2 with centre of Screen instead of some reference of camera direction centre. I have upgraded raycast im my project to camera instead of screen and it works perfectly. Is there any simple way to do something similar forlookPosition  ?
    I am using Unity 5.4.0b10

Thank you for any advice.

• sonnsoffsonnsoff Posts: 1
    As I am a noob, I have created a few UI buttons but each of them does not have an Event Camera field? How do I drag the 'Look Camera' into each of them as you describe in Step 5?

"5. For every UI Canvas object you have in the scene, drag this "Look Camera" object into the "Event Camera" field."

Thanks for the help guys and sorry to be the noob asking nooby questions! :-)
  • ccsccs Posts: 219
    Hiro Protagonist
    Only the Canvas component has an Event Camera field, and you don't actually have to set it anymore as it defaults to the Main Camera which is a unified, both-eye VR camera nowadays. A while back the Oculus integration was 2 separate cameras for each eye, and in that case it helped to have a "center" eye fake camera so the cursor/look point would be dead center.
    Hiro Protagonist
    I just updated to 5.4 beta and I see this is no longer working. I'll try to figure out what is broken.
    Hiro Protagonist
    edited May 2016