Problem Running TF2

A place to talk about Oculus-ready games and demos that can be used with the Rift development kit.

Problem Running TF2

Postby mikesig » April 30th, 2013, 6:06 pm

Hey, all: I downloaded the orange box version of TF2 on steam (not the beta, the actual tf2) and added the command line -vr, but TF2 is not working properly. The valve/steam logos are in normal 1200x800 resolution, as are the menus. When I get into the game, it splits the screen in half, but not oculus-style (i.e. the Tuscany demo). Running vr_configure also does nothing: it elicits no response from the console. Note that I have the rift plugged into my laptop via HDMI as a cloned monitor, and the Tuscany demo runs perfectly fine. Any suggestions would be much appreciated!
mikesig
 
Posts: 3
Joined: April 30th, 2013, 8:12 am

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby Klepto » April 30th, 2013, 6:11 pm

I just posted almost the exact same thing. I've got the same problem. Adding this reply to track and to confirm the problem.
Klepto
 
Posts: 8
Joined: April 30th, 2013, 11:09 am

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby SirKnightTG » April 30th, 2013, 7:08 pm

I too was just about to post this very issue. The split image is not pre-warped and moving the oculus around does nothing for the view. I guess Valve broke VR mode in a recent update.
User avatar
SirKnightTG
 
Posts: 28
Joined: March 29th, 2013, 12:42 pm
Location: Beyond the Mind's Eye

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby brandonagr » April 30th, 2013, 7:14 pm

I'm having the same problem, I just got my Rift today and this was the first thing I was trying to get working :(
brandonagr
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 29th, 2013, 3:32 pm

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby bizarrobrian » April 30th, 2013, 7:16 pm

Add me to the list of people having the same issue. I switched from hdmi to DVI but it didn't make any difference. Did they recently push an update or something?
bizarrobrian
 
Posts: 2
Joined: March 31st, 2013, 8:12 pm

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby Zyxt » April 30th, 2013, 7:32 pm

Same here, looked all over the place for a fix but couldn't find any.
Zyxt
 
Posts: 1
Joined: April 30th, 2013, 4:50 pm

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby RichardSJust » April 30th, 2013, 7:46 pm

+1

Notes:
The tuscony demo works great.

TF2 in the console vr_calibration is recognised as a command but doesn't do anything
When loading a multiplayer the screen splits but not in vr mode.
RichardSJust
 
Posts: 4
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 10:00 am

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby mikesig » April 30th, 2013, 7:47 pm

At this point, it looks likely that there was either a new update to TF2 that bonked the Rift support or that downloading it today caused us to get a new version that doesn't have the proper Rift update but also makes Steam think it's the latest version. Has anyone with the problem had TF2 on their PC before today?
mikesig
 
Posts: 3
Joined: April 30th, 2013, 8:12 am

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby jherico » April 30th, 2013, 8:26 pm

I discovered this trying it out on a new machine, but moving back to a machine I had working last night still exhibited the problem. Yeah, looks like Valve broke the one working game.
Brad Davis - Co-author of Oculus Rift in Action - Like us on Facebook
Rifty Business - A blog on software development for the Rift.
Image
User avatar
jherico
 
Posts: 1281
Joined: March 29th, 2013, 4:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby braaad » April 30th, 2013, 10:09 pm

I just tried it also, not working.

I haven't played TF2 in ages and it had to convert file formats or whatever it does.

I just get a plain split screen with no head tracking. All other games work fine.
braaad
 
Posts: 7
Joined: April 1st, 2013, 12:40 am

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby cmoski » April 30th, 2013, 11:46 pm

Yeah. I was playing at around 3 AM this morning PST. Everything was fine, and then Valve must have issued an update between then and 2 PM PST..

Of course, they issued an update right before I brought a few developer friends from Microsoft over to check out the Rift. So, I fired it up and sure enough, split screen goodness with no head tracking :) Not before recompressing the GCFs and leaving us with an hour wait to 'improve performance.'

One of these days Steam...
cmoski
 
Posts: 3
Joined: April 29th, 2013, 2:16 pm

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby Kajos » May 1st, 2013, 12:58 am

FYI I fixed this by reinstalling steam and team fortress.
Kajos
 
Posts: 19
Joined: March 29th, 2013, 2:44 pm

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby Wookiee » May 1st, 2013, 2:20 am

-vr gets me split screen... both showing the same perspective.
vr_calibration does nothing.
Menu is truncated and left eye only.
No warp
No head tracking.
Wookiee
 
Posts: 78
Joined: March 29th, 2013, 6:29 pm
Location: Armidale, NSW, Australia.

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby braaad » May 1st, 2013, 3:36 am

Kajos wrote:FYI I fixed this by reinstalling steam and team fortress.


I am re-installing it now *sigh*. I will update with results.
braaad
 
Posts: 7
Joined: April 1st, 2013, 12:40 am

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby braaad » May 1st, 2013, 4:21 am

braaad wrote:
Kajos wrote:FYI I fixed this by reinstalling steam and team fortress.


I am re-installing it now *sigh*. I will update with results.


Still not working...
braaad
 
Posts: 7
Joined: April 1st, 2013, 12:40 am

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby Slortz » May 1st, 2013, 4:33 am

Working for me yesterday, fired up steam tonight and d/l the optimization updates...now broken.
Slortz
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 29th, 2013, 3:32 pm

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby SirKnightTG » May 1st, 2013, 6:41 am

Kajos wrote:FYI I fixed this by reinstalling steam and team fortress.



No that will not fix it. I installed a fresh steam and TF2 on my new notebook and the problem is still there. It's Valve's latest patch that broke it.
User avatar
SirKnightTG
 
Posts: 28
Joined: March 29th, 2013, 12:42 pm
Location: Beyond the Mind's Eye

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby Wookiee » May 1st, 2013, 7:07 am

Hope they are busy trying to fit all the console commands into a nifty menu... I can dream.
Wookiee
 
Posts: 78
Joined: March 29th, 2013, 6:29 pm
Location: Armidale, NSW, Australia.

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby joe » May 1st, 2013, 11:50 am

Looking into it...
User avatar
joe
 
Posts: 96
Joined: February 19th, 2013, 11:28 am
Website: http://valvesoftware.com
Location: Seattle

Re: Problem Running TF2

Postby RichardSJust » May 1st, 2013, 2:02 pm

Thanks Joe! Greatly appreciated!
RichardSJust
 
Posts: 4
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 10:00 am


Return to “Oculus-ready Games and Demos”


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ajbang, BaalMoloch, Bortne, Clydonian, coconut2023, ErwinZwart, Icebear, Lazare, MojoW, nosys70, nulligan, Shadowdawnz, splashor13, Wildt and 5 guests